Um... Shift no longer constrains proportions in Illustrator?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by dopey220, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #1
    ... Yeah. It's really annoying. Anyone know what the deal is with this?
     
  2. prs986 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Central CA, USA
    #2
    hmmmmmm...... works for me. Is there a setting in preferences?
     
  3. dopey220 thread starter macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #3
    I restarted my computer, and all seems to be well again. Weird.
     
  4. mashny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #4
    Standard troubleshooting: When an application starts acting weird, check the preferences. If that doesn't work, trash the preferences file. If Illustrator (or just about any program) does not see a preference file, it will create a new one. Doing this will work most of the time. If this doesn't work, trash and reinstall Illustrator.
     
  5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    Reminds me of a time when one of my colleagues was up against a really tight and important deadline, frazzled, trying to get work to press on a Friday evening so the printer could have things plated by Monday morning...

    And then Quark starts throwing a major wobbly, so out of desperation, we're doing everything in far too much hurry... discarding preferences, messing with preferences and settings, eventually reinstalling... problem still there.

    Turned out the keyboard was malfunctioning. :D

    Oh, how we laugh now. ;)
     
  6. Belly-laughs macrumors 6502a

    Belly-laughs

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Location:
    you wish
    #6
    He he, the things one does when stressed…

    I used to have a reoccurring keyboard issue in Illustrator CS3 with the space bar losing function (move/pan). Luckily reboots solved it, I imagine it´s faster than restoring prefs, etc.

    BTW: It hasn´t happened since the .0.2 update I don´t think. Dopey220, is your copy up to date?
     
  7. macstudent macrumors 6502

    macstudent

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  8. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #8
    All software is prone to problems. Adobe are no exception to that rule, as anyone who is using CS3 and Bridge on PPC knows... and as it turned out, the problem wasn't with Quark 7 anyway. Most of the time it's pretty stable and can do certain things that InDesign can't... so, any professional user should be used to using the particular software suited to their task and the integration with their larger systems, not being a blind fan of one or the other.
     

Share This Page