Um... so how do I access those promised public transit directions?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by zfgxdfgdfg, Sep 16, 2015.

  1. zfgxdfgdfg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #1
    Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't see them...

    IMG_1468.PNG
     
  2. DMaki650 macrumors 6502

    DMaki650

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    South Saint Paul, MN
    #2
    You need to get WAY closer to almost street level. There are blue bus signs on certain stops. They show up for me.
     
  3. zfgxdfgdfg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #3
    Yeah I see those, but tapping on them just brings up a POI page. Even tapping "Directions" from there only brings up the same as above: driving, walking, or apps. No way to actually get transit directions.

    Don't tell me Apple artificially blocked them on 5th gen. iPod touch? That's so dumb and arbitrary, the same way iPods can't show the battery percentage. I understand some cuts are made for it, but these ones don't make any sense.
     
  4. DMaki650 macrumors 6502

    DMaki650

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    South Saint Paul, MN
    #4
    When I tap on the sign a Transit Departure page shows up for me. I don't have an iPod.
     
  5. zfgxdfgdfg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #5
    This is what I get:

    IMG_1470.PNG IMG_1471.PNG
     
  6. chrissuth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
  7. zfgxdfgdfg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #7
    It's not there. Just "Map" and "Satellite".

    And in case anyone's wondering, yes, I did update to iOS 9 :)

    IMG_1472.PNG
     
  8. chrissuth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #8
    Thats strange, between map and satellite mine says transport. But it isn't supported where i live. maybe its not on iPods. as probably needs signal to check the bus's gps and times
     
  9. zfgxdfgdfg, Sep 16, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2015

    zfgxdfgdfg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    #9
    It needs signal to do anything, really, but that doesn't mean they excluded the entire app from iPods (you just need to be on wifi). Google Maps also has no issue providing this service to all apps. I really think this is just artificial limitation to push upgrades, which is dumb, cuz who's gonna upgrade to a newer device just because of this? Especially when Google Maps is available for free.
     

Share This Page