uMB using DDR2?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by zw-gator, May 29, 2009.

  1. zw-gator macrumors 6502a

    zw-gator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey, I’m just wondering if DDR2 ram can be placed into a uMB? I have a bad feeling this can’t be done :(
     
  2. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
  3. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Unfortunately, for you and your bad feeling, it can't be done :(
    Due to a different amount of pins on the chips, it won't fit.
     
  4. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    All MacBooks as of 5/29/09:

    Black DDR2
    White DDR2
    Aluminum DDR3

    Period :rolleyes:
     
  5. opinioncircle macrumors 6502a

    opinioncircle

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #5
    Why would you want to use DDR3 in the first place? I mean if you have to pay for them, I don't see why you would want to put DDR2 inside the uMB..
     
  6. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    He might have 2GB of DDR3 ram in it, and have a spare 4GB of DDR2 ram lying around..
     

Share This Page