un locking my brother's mac (he passed away).

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jetdude, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. jetdude macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, germany
    #1
    Need help un-locking my brother's mac notebook, (he passed away) any ideas ???. Software, or hardware changes, or what to do ?.
    Myself and family are curious to find out the information on it and really need help. As we turn it on, the password little window appears and we cannot go around that. Tried hundreds of passwords, so far, nothing. Check'd around, but no much use for Mac in the Berlin area, or at least where we are.
    Most of us are familiar with the PC systems, not Mac.
    Any help will be appreaciated. Thank you.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    If the Mac has a hardware password on it, then there's not really anything you can do. If it's the normal Mac OS X login box, then this can be bypassed with the Mac OS X install DVD. There's an option to reset the admin password, after you boot from that disc.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    I'm sorry for your loss :(

    Do you have the install disks? If you do, boot from it (hold down alt key while booting) and from the Menu Bar (the bar on the top), select reset admins password
     
  4. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #4
    -jetdude

    I'm terribly sorry about your brother!

    I'm also sorry to report there is no way around the user authentication. Hackers have been trying to do this for a long time.

    EDIT: Sorry, I should have clarified: If it is encrypted, you are out of luck. As for resetting password, wrldwzrd89 has the best idea to try.
     
  5. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #5
    jetdude, so sorry. Hope we can help you with this.

    Don't you mean the C key?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Both, C and option (the alt/ key) work. C boots straight from DVD while option key gives as its name says, options to boot from.
     
  7. jetdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, germany
    #7
    Thanx a lot guys

    I will try all options, hopefully will work. If I find the discs, can I just introduce them into the CD drive and they will boot up, or work, even though have no password ?. Or will the computer will reconfigure itself and all date will be lost ?.
    Thank you fellows, and good nite.
     
  8. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #8
    I'm not sure what you're asking there.

    You shouldn't need any password or registration key to boot from the original disc(s) - or any Mac OS disc. It's not like Windows in that regard.
     
  9. charlesbronsen macrumors 6502a

    charlesbronsen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ont
    #9
    Put the CD in.
    Restart computer.
    When you hear "BONG" pres and hold down the "C" key.
     
  10. igucl macrumors 6502a

    igucl

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    #10
    Sorry. In hindsight, I realized that my post had no place in this thread. It was a post for another topic and forum. Sorry to hijack this thread; got carried away. :eek:
     
  11. niuniu macrumors 68020

    niuniu

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    A man of the people. The right sort of people.
    #11
    Sorry to hear about your brother, I hope you find the info you're looking for :(
     
  12. jetdude thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Berlin, germany
    #12
    Thank you very very much guys !!!

    thank you for your assistance and support. Appreciate it a lot.
    Good nite, good weekend and Happy Easter !
     
  13. fullojellybeans macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #13
    Not 100% true. In every machine with removable RAM if you take out one chip to change the config of the system it will bypass the firmware logic. MBA and MacMini don't allow for this.


    sorry about your brother.
     
  14. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #14
    Hmm. I did not know about that. Thanks.
     
  15. fullojellybeans macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #15
    No Prob. you may need to zap the PRAM to flash it, but it usually works fine by itself. i think it's Intel only though that this feature works, never got to try with a PPC or if they offered that.
     

Share This Page