Un-officially hired!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Illuminated, Nov 24, 2010.

1. Illuminated macrumors 6502a

Illuminated

This is probably one of the biggest things that has happened to me. Currently I'm in my last semester at The Restaurant School here in Philly. I'm majoring in Pastry Arts. There was a career fair at my school last week, and the pastry chef from Loews Hotel that had a booth set up. I came into the career fair thinking I wasn't gonna get a job, but to my surprise, the pastry chef liked me. She gave me a 'mini' interview on the spot, and she told me she would call me after she sees my resume. I sent it to her that night, and then the next night (last Friday), she called me. She told me to come in next week (this week now), for a tour, official interview, etc.

Well I had that tour today. She told me that according to her, I'm hired. Also, I met this lady from HR (human resources) at the Hotel Olympics yesterday, and she likes me, and has now seen my resume as well. According to her, I'm also hired.

Now all I have to do is take a drug test, personality test, and a background check, and have another interview with HR...

BTW, I'm going to be doing all the plated desserts for the restaurant, room service desserts, banquets, and pastry production which includes dessert prep, banquet prep, baking the bread for the restaurant, etc...

This is a huge for me, and can be the opportunity of a life time.

2. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

3. Illuminated thread starter macrumors 6502a

Illuminated

Thanks!

4. Firestar macrumors 68020

Firestar

5. Apple OC macrumors 68040

Apple OC

Sounds like a very solid start ... give it 110% and things should work out really well.

hard work is usually rewarded ... Congrats.

6. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

Abyssgh0st

Congratulations! Hopefully you'll make the right choice as in which one to choose.

7. TheOnlyJon macrumors 6502a

TheOnlyJon

Sounds like it was a piece of cake to me!