unable to bridge with airport extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mentaluproar, Oct 25, 2013.

  1. mentaluproar macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #1
    I'm moving in a week and need to temporarily join my NAS to another wireless network. I want to go cable modem->ASUS router->wifi->airport extreme->Synology NAS. While I can get my airport to join the network, I cannot get the wired NAS behind it to connect to the network.

    Is there something I'm missing here?
     
  2. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #2
    Does the AE get a valid IP from the Asus ?
    AE is in Bridge mode ?
    Can you try it with a LAN connection ?

    What IP address does the Synology have when it fails to connect ?

    Might be that the AE can't extend the Asus WiFi but if the AE gets a valid IP, then it is working it seems.
     
  3. outie2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #3
    Just make sure to set the Network Mode for the AEBS as "Join a wireless network".
     
  4. mentaluproar thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #4
    I've done that, and the ASUS router recognizes it. the connection is established, but nothing gets any further than the AE.
     
  5. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #5
    Does anything connect to the AE ? As far as I remember AEs don't like extending non-Apple WiFi networks. See : https://discussions.apple.com/message/22812845#22812845

    If you can LAN connect the AE, then it should work as a bridged access point.
     
  6. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    There is a protocol between the ASUS router and AEBS required to make this work, which the router probably doesn't support. You could probably connect a USB drive to the AEBS and the rest of the network would see it, but not another network device.
     
  7. mentaluproar thread starter macrumors 68000

    mentaluproar

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #7
    Doing more research, it seems you are right. when in client mode, the AE only shares USB and airplay features.

    When this thing dies, I will not be replacing it with another apple router.
     
  8. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    My AE has been working fine for.. 10 years... you may have a long wait :)

    When replacement time comes, you may need to replace both devices as the network config you are needing may not be widely supported in consumer class devices, regardless of vendor.
     

Share This Page