unable to connect macpro to samsung HDTV

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by trimanjm, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. trimanjm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #1
    I just purchased the Apple mini display port to DVI adapter and HDMI to DVI Video Cable along with separate Belkin audio cables in order to use my Apple MacPro on my Samsung HDTV. Unfortunately, I only see my laptop "wallpaper" photograph when connecting to the HDMI. Unable to see the dock, files, or the mouse arrow moving. Tried connecting to a host of HDMI/DVI inputs with the same wallpaper seen. Tried connecting first with the TV powered and the computer powered down followed by powering up the TV followed by the computer. Any other suggestions to see my computer on the TV??
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    System Preferences > Displays > Arrangement

    [​IMG]

    Select MIRROR DISPLAYS to mirror the laptop's display onto the TV or deselect MIRROR DISPLAYS (as it is currently done) to extend the display to the TV. Move the mouse cursor around and see if you can see it on the TV. You can do the same with windows.



    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Do you have another monitor connected as well? If so, move the mouse to the right side of the screen, and keep going. It should show up on the TV then. This is because the stock setting is to extend the desktop. You can change that to mirroring in System Preferences -> displays. That will show the same thing on both monitors.
     
  4. trimanjm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #4
    new issue: getting the audio to work

    Thanks for the "mirror display" tip...it works!!

    struggling now with the audio... attached the Belkin "Connect Play Listen" stereo cable to the white/red combo but have no audio. Is there a "settings" tip I need to adjust?v:)
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    If there is a setting, it would be on the tv. You have to make sure that the audio in is for the same input as the video. Only problem there is that most HDMI inputs don't have a separate audio input. If your tv has a HDMI port that does have audio input with it, use that. Otherwise look for a setting to take audio from one source and video from another. The tv may not have that though, and if that's the case, you may be SOL unless you have some sort of stereo that you can plug it into.
     
  6. trimanjm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #6
    audio followup

    I was able to match the HDMI/DVI input along with the audio and it works. Many thanks !!!:)
     

Share This Page