"Unable to Connect" to several websites

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Quasiportnoy, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. Quasiportnoy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    #1
    I get the message "Unable to Connect" in both Firefox, Safari, and Opera when trying to go to the following websites:

    http://chris.pirillo.com
    http://www.equifax.com
    http://www.kmsstv.com

    It's weird because I can navigate to other pages, like this one, and google, facebook, amazon, you name it. I can get to the vast majority of sites, but I can't get to these three in OS X. (I'm running 10.4.11, but don't know if that has anything to do with it.)

    I've tried changing and checking my DNS settings, but they're fine. I even booted up in Windows XP to see if it was the external network of my ISP, and it went fine! The diagnostic assistant says my network connection is fine, and it is, except for these sites.

    Any ideas or suggestions? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #2
    When you try to connect, look at activities and see if that shows you anything.
     
  3. Quasiportnoy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    #3
    Doesn't show anything special that I can see.
     
  4. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #4
    Hmmm. Then from a terminal window try pinging the sites and/or traceroute to see if you can see them, or how far you get when you try to access them. I have tried the chris.pirillo site and it works well for me. Even if the ping fails, it should show the IP address from dns.

    Code:
    Macintosh:~ mymachine$ ping chris.pirillo.com
    PING chris.pirillo.com (209.200.52.204): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 209.200.52.204: icmp_seq=0 ttl=242 time=109.553 ms
    64 bytes from 209.200.52.204: icmp_seq=1 ttl=242 time=107.980 ms
    ^C
    --- chris.pirillo.com ping statistics ---
    2 packets transmitted, 2 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 107.980/108.767/109.553/0.786 ms
    Macintosh:~ mymachine$ traceroute chris.pirillo.com
    traceroute to chris.pirillo.com (209.200.52.204), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
     1  * * *
     2  68.87.160.153 (68.87.160.153)  8.259 ms  6.968 ms *
     3  68.87.160.9 (68.87.160.9)  8.399 ms  7.942 ms  7.097 ms
     4  12.117.243.5 (12.117.243.5)  13.826 ms  14.248 ms  14.305 ms
     5  12.127.6.54 (12.127.6.54)  14.306 ms  15.114 ms  14.183 ms
     6  gr2.st6wa.ip.att.net (12.127.6.174)  13.593 ms  14.072 ms  13.819 ms
     7  192.205.34.94 (192.205.34.94)  15.044 ms  14.309 ms  14.339 ms
     8  67.17.111.18 (67.17.111.18)  118.186 ms  107.725 ms  105.816 ms
     9  WEBAIR-NTERNET.ge-0-1-0.422.ar3.JFK1.gblx.net (67.17.197.26)  268.815 ms  110.583 ms  109.306 ms
    10  esa010.nyc.webair.net (209.200.52.5)  110.101 ms  107.470 ms  107.740 ms
    11  csa080.nyc.webair.net (209.200.31.26)  277.672 ms  118.766 ms  307.281 ms
    12  216.130.185.170 (216.130.185.170)  107.599 ms  106.626 ms  110.855 ms
    
    This is from Washington state, so your mileage may vary.
     
  5. Quasiportnoy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    #5
    Here's what I got when I tried:

    Code:
    PING chris.pirillo.com (209.200.52.204): 56 data bytes
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    .
    .
    .
    --- chris.pirillo.com ping statistics ---
    14 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
    
    And it just kept pinging with no response. Same with equifax. I also get no ping response from other sites that I CAN navigate to in my browser.

    Any ideas on how to remedy the "No route to host" problem?
     
  6. Quasiportnoy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    #6
    Just found the issue after searching for the host problem. Apparently it was PeerGuardian that was the issue.

    Thanks for all of your help, mac-convert. I really wouldn't have found it without you.
     
  7. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #7
    Hey, just checked back in on this. You're welcome, and I am glad you found the problem. It's good to know the basics. The IP showed that you had dns, but just didn't know how to, or couldn't get there. Have good one.
     

Share This Page