Unable to connect with Radioshack Ethernet to USB adapter

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by RoyalStone, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. RoyalStone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #1
    I have a mid-2014 13" MacBook Pro , and I'm trying to get my new Ethernet to USB adapter from Radioshack. Nothing shows up in the Networks pane of System preferences, and when I turn off wifi I can no longer connect to the internet. It came with drivers, and I installed that package and then restarted but nothing shows up for this adapter. Is there a certain order I should be plugging the various cables in? Is it possible the problem is with the Ethernet cable which is also new?

    I'm trying to figure out how I can get this device working. Here is a picture of how it shows up in System Information: [​IMG]
    (It says USB 2.0, but the 12mbps speed and the fact that the manual says it is USB 1.1 say otherwise).

    Any ideas on how to make this work?
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    First, I'd try different drivers. That includes drivers from other vendors.

    If that didn't work, I'd try another USB/Ethernet adapter...
     
  3. RoyalStone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #3
    I'll try some different drivers, but first shouldn't I uninstall the one I installed? How would I do that?

    And yeah, I'm willing to buy another one (maybe from Monoprice if people say that one works, or maybe just the $30 Apple Ethernet to Thunderbolt, because that one is all but guaranteed to work) but I'd like to see if I can get this one to work.
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Do you need a straight Ethernet cable....Tx--->TX and Rx--->Rx or, a reverse cable that is wired Tx--->Rx and Rx--->Tx? The connection will not work if you don't get the transmit and receive pairs as the devices expect.
     
  5. RoyalStone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestions you two, but I managed to fix it. As per this xkcd:

    [​IMG]
    I will share what I did.

    I searched the Product ID in my screenshot (which is 0x9702 so that someone can search for it [vendor id is
    0x0fe6]) along with the word "mac" which led me to this article.

    I will copy and paste the full text here in case that site goes down. Following those steps solved my issue.
     

Share This Page