Unable to delete any applications

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by TSC, Sep 29, 2009.

1. TSC macrumors newbie

TSC

Hi,

Recently I upgraded to Snow Leopard, noticed some real improvements, etc. However, it has become apparent over the last week or so, that I am unable to delete any application from any folder on my system. I have tried changing ownership and permission settings to no avail. I have also tried using those application removal tools (AppZapper, AppDelete, et al). None of the files I wish to delete are 'locked' and I do not believe they are owned by root. I am not an expert in using the Terminal application, so I have not tried changing settings using this.

I had intended to take my computer into my local Apple store, however, I wanted to see if I could find a solution online and fix it myself.

I should also mention that I am not trying to delete pre-installed software, just third-party software that I no longer use.

The best way of describing what happens after I trash an app is that almost immediately after trashing, the app seems to 'jump' back to its former place.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks.

2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

Perhaps it would be useful for you to describe what happens when you try each method you mentioned. "It doesn't work" is not much to go on.

3. TSC thread starter macrumors newbie

TSC

I'm sorry you didn't quite get the message of my post, Gregg2.

I must say, I think my post is pretty clear, however, do allow me to clarify further.

I have found that I can no longer delete applications, whether third-party or pre-installed. Every time I 'trash' an app, it momentarily disappears then almost instantly reappears (almost as if it jumps from the trash back to the Apps folder). In order to try to solve this:

I have tried changing ownership and permissions of files I wish to delete - apps still 'jump' back.

I have tried using application removal tools - they have no effect, apps still jump back.