Unable to determine location

Discussion in 'iPad' started by trsnrtr, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. trsnrtr macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
    #1
    Both my iPad and iPod Touch can no longer determine where they are. I took a trip to Durango, Co (from Illinois) and since, both machines can't determine my location for programs that use it.

    Ideas?
     
  2. rikbrown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #2
    Have you installed OpenSSH (if you're jailbroken)?
     
  3. trsnrtr thread starter macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
  4. trsnrtr thread starter macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
    #4
    Must be my network at home. I was in a restaurant with wifi this morning and it finally noticed that I was back in Illinois. It's only been 10 days since I got back :D
     
  5. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #5
    Did you ever figure anything out about why your location was not working. I am having the same issue, seems like at home using wifi it is not able to find me. If I use my miFi device it does find me.
     
  6. trsnrtr thread starter macrumors 6502

    trsnrtr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Central Illinois, USA
    #6
    For some reason, my location is found most places but never in my home. I have no idea why. For example. I've tried the Mobile Me find my iPad feature at home and it never works but if I'm five miles away in a restaurant, it knows exactly where I am. The same is true for other apps that want location.
     
  7. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #7
    it is strange, while i am out and about using my Verizon mifi both Google earth and the map App have no trouble finding me. But at home using the wireless net gear router i get an error.
     
  8. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #8
    I have read that it may because that the router DB that apple Issas does not have mine in it....
     
  9. The Tos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    #9
    is there a way to correct this on a jailbroken ipad with 4.2.1 running? It cannot locate me on the Maps application.
     
  10. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #10
    I may be way off here but from what i have read, it has something to do with the database that apple usees to determine location. Since we (at leat i) am wifi and not 3g apple is somehow using the router that the wifi signal is routing through.
     
  11. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
  12. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #12
    If you're not using a 3G iPad, you don't have a gps chip inside - so the location data is based off of known wifi hotspot locations. If your home hotspot location hasn't been mapped, your location services wont know where you are.

    There are instructions out there for adding your home wifi to the database of locations used by (is it skyhook?) - ill see if I can find a link.

    Edit - here's the link to add your home wifi router to skyhook's database, which should n turn let your ipad 'find' itself when you're at home -

    http://www.skyhookwireless.com/howitworks/submit_ap.php
     
  13. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #13
    Thank you, you are awesome.
     

Share This Page