Unable to do backup anymore please help.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Atomant669, Dec 30, 2014.

  1. Atomant669 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #1
    Hi I haven't been able to back up my mac using my external hard drive anymore and this sign keeps showing whenever I'm trying to back it up. What's wrong?

    Seems like most of the backups on my external disks is gone? What happened? do i need to reconfigure my external hard drive? I have updated to Yosemite is that the reason why it's not backing up anymore?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Looks like you might have a failing drive there. You will lose any data on the disk, but you can try reformatting in Disk Utility and starting a new backup to see if that works.
     
  3. liya1201 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #3
    If I were you, I will try to use DiskWarrior to repair Time Machine disk.
     
  4. rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    disk warrior on a time machine disk is a waste of money. unless you really care about your back up chain, like the 8 to 10 months of hourly and weekly backups you are keeping.. or in case their is something else on that external hard disk worth saving.....

    just erase the hard disk and start over , thats what i would do

    the one bad thing with external usb hard disks is the USB to SATA bridge board blocks the s.m.a.r.t. sensor.
    so your hard disk can be junk and crashed , and you would have no idea, even if you did spend $99 on disk warrior, in order to run diagnostics software like SEATOOLS you need the hard disk connected directly to the computer's sata bus to check the smart sensor



    i never been able to use disk utility on a time machine disk of any sort. i think if you look hard enough, theres a apple support article specifically telling you never to run disk utility on time machines disk, at least on time capsules.

    oh here it is

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202174

    Important: Do not use Disk Utility to erase, verify, or repair a AirPort Time Capsule disk.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    My suggestion will be different from the others.

    1. Reinitialize the backup drive.
    2. Use CarbonCopyCloner to create a cloned backup.
    3. Use CCC to do "incremental" backups frequently.

    No more Time Machine glitches and problems!
     
  6. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #6
    or get a NEW backup drive, in case the drive itself is damaged...
     

Share This Page