iPhone Unable to download anything from apple

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by The Tos, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. The Tos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    #1
    Hello All,

    Since the new jailbreak I am unable to download/purchase anything from Apple. Whether its from the app store or the iTunes app. The app store just spin wheels after I tried downloading an app. The iTunes app says "unable to purchase at this time, try again later". Anyone else having these issues? I have a 5s running 7.0.4
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    boot up your device holding volume up, this'll put you into safe mode and none of your tweaks will work

    try downloading something from the app store now and if it works, then it means that it's a bad tweak doing this and you'll have to remove that
     
  3. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #3
    Having the same trouble.

    Volume up upon boot didn't put it in safe mode.
     
  4. ominx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #4
    I continue to have this problem since evasi0n 7 was released. I've tried pretty much everything short of restoring. It's very annoying but what I do to fix the problem is:
    1. Click "Free" / "Buy Now"
    2. Enter Passcode
    3. Close error message.
    4. Kill the app store from the multi-task switcher
    5. Reopen app store
    6. Re-download app

    This is the only way I can download any app that I haven't already downloaded or purchased. Previous purchases and updates download ok.
     
  5. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #5

    Have you changed your firmware version before? In the systems settings plist?
     
  6. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  7. ominx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #7
    Not that I remember... not really sure where to look. I'll poke around though.

    EDIT:
    Looking at \System\Library\CoreServices\SystemVersion.plist I'm showing Product Version 7.0.4 which is what I am running.
     
  8. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #8
    Use activator or something to put you into safe mode if you can't seem to do it by holding volume up while your device is booting (should be extremely simple to put your device into safe mode)
     
  9. spencers, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014

    spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #9
    Removing Substrate Safe Mode fixed the problem.

    So now all my tweaks are gone...

    Is there anything I can clean out via SSH that may be sticking around?
     
  10. caribsa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    #10
    That means one of the tweaks was causing the issue. Install them 1 by 1 and see which one.
     
  11. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #11
    Well, I restored the iPhone and started from scratch. Didn't restore from backup.

    Jailbroke again.

    Reinstalled all the tweaks I had before.

    AppStore works just fine now.
     
  12. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #12
    I'm having the same problem. Overall, this JB is becoming far more of a hassle than its worth. Thinking of restoring to stock and just sitting this one out.
     
  13. AppleFanatic10 macrumors 68030

    AppleFanatic10

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Encino, CA
    #13
    That doesn't work for iPhones.... that's usually a method used for android devices.
     
  14. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #14
    Booting into safe mode by holding volume up while the device is starting up is a feature built into mobile substrate
     
  15. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #15
    So I did a restore, made sure to sign in and purchase an app (well, a free app) prior to retail breaking and it seems to have worked. App Store is working fine.
     

Share This Page