Unable to explain iPhone data usage/charges

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by WhiteNoiseMaker, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. WhiteNoiseMaker macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #1
    Can anyone explain why I keep getting these charges for data on my O2 SIMplicity (pay monthly) contract, when I'm not even using my iPhone to access the internet/email/weather/stocks?

    Charges are like this everyday...

    01 Jun 08 10:11:54 mobile.o2.co.uk 9 0.022
    02 Jun 08 06:01:05 mobile.o2.co.uk 4 0.010
    03 Jun 08 06:02:14 mobile.o2.co.uk 2 0.005
    04 Jun 08 06:01:45 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    05 Jun 08 06:20:53 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    06 Jun 08 06:20:29 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    07 Jun 08 07:17:28 mobile.o2.co.uk 7 0.017
    08 Jun 08 05:50:19 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015

    It's been doing this everyday but i've only just noticed as I pay by Direct Debit and don't check my bills online very often. I wake up around 6am Monday to Friday and the only thing I press is the home button when I wake up, just to see if I have any missed calls or sms. Why would it charge me for data just from pressing the home button? I know its not a huge bill I'm running up here, but its bothering me that it might start doing this while I'm abroad giving me a big bill! :confused:
     
  2. lindsayanng macrumors 68000

    lindsayanng

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    East Haven, CT
    #2
    i'm not in the UK, so i dont really know.. but could it be the charges for when your email refreshes?
     
  3. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #3
    I've got my email set to check manually so I don't think its that. If it was it would be checking every 15/30 mins or hourly.
     
  4. earnjam macrumors 6502a

    earnjam

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    Does it say how much data is being transferred or what direction?
     
  5. JonboyDC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    #5
    Doesn't visual voicemail require a data transfer? I would see if you're getting any data charges on days when you don't receive a single voicemail.
     
  6. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #6
    Shown in red which is KB so on average 6KB is being sent I guess, as it doesn't tell me if its upload or download. The most puzzling part is why the hell is it not using my home Wi-Fi connection, if it does need to send/receive data!?

    01 Jun 08 10:11:54 mobile.o2.co.uk 9 0.022
    02 Jun 08 06:01:05 mobile.o2.co.uk 4 0.010
    03 Jun 08 06:02:14 mobile.o2.co.uk 2 0.005
    04 Jun 08 06:01:45 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    05 Jun 08 06:20:53 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    06 Jun 08 06:20:29 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
    07 Jun 08 07:17:28 mobile.o2.co.uk 7 0.017
    08 Jun 08 05:50:19 mobile.o2.co.uk 6 0.015
     
  7. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #7
    This has happened every single day even if I've never received any calls or sms that day.
     
  8. Loopy65 macrumors 6502a

    Loopy65

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #8
    I'm sorry but I'm even more confused than you! .. I am just about to buy my first iPhone and was under the impression that all data is free anyways (while in the UK) .. it's one of the few (maybe only?) genuine 'all you can eat' arrangement for data so there should be no charges at all for data should there? ..

    sorry for the added confusion!

    Loopy
     
  9. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #9
    I'm not on the iPhone contract its a SIM only O2 contract which is costing me £15 pm + data charges (Unlocked/Jailbroken). Also there is no EDGE service where I live only GPRS if that matters.
     
  10. Loopy65 macrumors 6502a

    Loopy65

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #10
    Ah ok .. thanks so much for clearing that up .. glad the real 'unlimited data' on the locked ones remains true!

    hope you get your problem sorted out
    Loopy
     
  11. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #11
    It is due to background things that the web apps do. I had an unlocked iPhone with no data plan atall, and I noticed in the data logs that data was being sent. So it just happens in the background, which is ok if you have the unlimited data, but not for me! Anyways, download boss prefs and turn of edge if you dont want the small data charges to keep appearing.
     
  12. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #12
    Will this switching EDGE off work if its connected using GPRS though? I can't get an EDGE (or 3G) signal where I live. So switching EDGE off will probably have no effect, as its not using EDGE at those times anyway.
     
  13. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #13
    I would just try it. I know I had no more unexplained data after I switched edge off.
     
  14. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #14
    I've installed it and switched EDGE off for the weekend. I'll post my results in a few days. Thanks for your advice.
     
  15. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #15
    Problem solved! No more charges since I switched the EDGE off using BossPrefs :D
     
  16. archi17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #16
    do you still get calls and stuff when edge is off?
     
  17. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #17
    They should. EDGE isn't required for voice.
     
  18. WhiteNoiseMaker thread starter macrumors regular

    WhiteNoiseMaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    #18
    Yes calls and SMS work but Safari or anything that requires internet connection will fail unless I have a Wi-Fi connection, or I use BossPrefs to switch EDGE back on. This is fine with me!
     

Share This Page