Unable to see screen for switching mac to pc

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dtechlogic, May 26, 2011.

  1. dtechlogic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I have monitor Samsung Syncmaster P2770HD. I could not able to see the screen were you can switch between windows and mac when holding the option key.
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    Which graphics card are you using? And is it a genuine Apple one or a (flashed) PC card?
     
  3. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    I am using the ATi Radeon 5870 which was bought from apple for about $470 dollars. But i kind of have to guess when to press left to choose windows.
     
  4. interslicer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
  5. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #5
    I am a little confuse here. When you says mac 1.1 will that mean the latest version or the older version. I have the latest version Westmere 8 core. so what number will that be or version.
     
  6. interslicer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #6
    hmm...

    does it show the grey apple logo on start up when you boot it normally?
     
  7. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #7
    i don't see the apple logo. come up. I have contacted apple and they gave me apple care phone number. I do still have ati radeon 5770 so i might test that one also. But i upgraded to 5870 for better performance on gaming for the windows side. I don't know if this is a big problem. I am going to test hdmi also to see if i get the same result. Oh well at least it is not dead. Will it be a video card problem or just something not set correctly.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    Did you see the boot screen with the 5770?

    I know some monitors take so long to wake up from sleep that they can actually miss the boot screen.
     
  9. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #9
    Shut down computer. Hold option key and turn on computer.

    If you have the latest (under warranty), contact Apple for support.
     
  10. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #10
    Hi,

    Yes it is under warranty. Brand new mac pro. No the 5870 was installed when i purchased it and they included the 5770 since i pay full price for the 5870 instead of half. You might be right that it is not waking up on time. It falls asleep when it find out there is no signal. I have another 23 inch monitor and i will test it. Right now i am work so i can't test it yet.
     
  11. interslicer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #11
    i dont think its the monitor. it sounds like the same problem people have when they use the not officially supported 6xxx cards made for windows pcs, but i dont know why it would have that issue with the stock mac 5870
     
  12. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #12
    once i get home i will try my ati radeon hd 5770 and see if i get the same error. If not it might be something else.
     
  13. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #13
    Hi Guys,

    I think i got screw over well but i still save money i guess. The only problem is that i am not able to get the screen were you can switch between windows and mac. But everything works fine. I have a xfx Hd 5870. I have two regular HDMI input on it with 2 DVI. The only problem is that i don't get the screen were i can choose windows or mac. but the rest works okay. I thought out the video card and put in the hd 5770 and i was able to see that screen. So i guess the video card i have is not genuine apple video card. How can you tell if it is genuine apple. i don't mind it since i got the hang of it already. But advice.
     
  14. interslicer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #14
  15. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #15
    You really got screwed. That's a normal PC card, worth much less than the $470 you paid. And it explains perfectly why you don't get a boot screen.

    What do you mean you "bought it from Apple"? Apple doesn't sell 3rd party XFX cards.

    If you can, return it. If you can't return it, you can at least flash it so it will work better.
     
  16. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #16
    It is already flash with an efi BIOS. It work normal. Except during boot up that's it I don't see the screen
     
  17. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #17
    First you bought a 5870 from Apple for $470, and now you're talking about a flashed XFX card.

    Are you hiding any other COMPLETELY CRUCIAL AND RELEVANT information?

    You know what? I don't care, I'm done here.
     
  18. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #18
    Sorry,

    Here are the facts. I bought a mac pro and upgraded the video card to a 5870 instead of using the 5770..

     
  19. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #19
    Here are the information on my video card.

    ATI Radeon HD 5870:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5870
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-1
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x6898
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-C0780C-194
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.436
    Displays:
    SyncMaster:
    Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: H1AK500000
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected
     

Share This Page