Unable to switch macbook pro off?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Downloadmonster, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. Downloadmonster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I recently made the move from pc to mac, and while I have gotten used to mac now, I still have 1 or 2 problems with it....
    I have a macbook pro 13, 2.66 ghz core 2 duo, which I got in january, and recently, it WON'T shut down! Its stuck at the blue screen with the loader icon on it..
    From what I have found, if I only use the laptop for a small period of time, it will shut down fine, However, if I use it for a few hours, it log off, and do everything, and then it will go the blue screen, and then the blie loader icon will appear, and I have to hold down the power button to turn it off.
    I'm on 10.6.7, and I tried resetting the PRAM, but that didn't help. Unfortunately, the nearest apple store is roughly a thousand kilometers away,
    so any ideas that you guys have would be much appreciated..
    Thanks in advance,

    Matthew
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #3
    I tried that in disk utility. Verified the disk and repaired the permissions....
     
  4. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #4
    reinstalling OS X did the trick for me
     
  5. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #5
    Problem is the disk that came with the laptop is 10.6.5, meaning I need to upgrade it again to 10.6.6 and then 10.6.7.. I have a 2mbps connection, meaning that downloads take a long time. :( It was fine till I went from 10.6.6 to 10.6.7.. Is the upgrade compulsory?
     
  6. borisiii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    #6
    I've had this before - do a PRAM reset. Works every time.
     
  7. inigel macrumors regular

    inigel

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    OP tried this, said it was unsuccessful.

    You wouldn't happen to have FileVault enabled OP?
     
  8. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #8
    Whats an OP? For that matter, what the hell is file vault?
    I havent really messed with the system preferences that much.
    The only thing I've changed is the screensaver :D
     
  9. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #9
    You're the OP (Original Poster) and FileVault is a way within OS X to encrypt your user home directory.
     
  10. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #10
    Thanks. I took a look at system preferences, and file vault is NOT enabled at all.... I feel like a noob again for not knowing ''OP''.......
    Is it true that you can see star wars in terminal through ascii characters?
    A friend told me he had seen it before.
    If its true, that would be REALLY cool!:D
     
  11. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #11
    Truthfully I hate acronyms and usually avoid them because generally they're too ambiguous, but I will admit that I have used OP on occasion since it's fairly common on message boards now-a-days.

    I've never heard the rumor about watching Star Wars in Terminal before, I guess you'll have to Google that one to find out if it's true.
     
  12. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #12
    Googled it, and if you type telnet towel.blinkenlights.nl in terminal you can star wars. Its pretty cool to see R2D2 made up of little letter. :)
     
  13. ender land macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
  14. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #14
    I'm drifting off topic!:( Need help on my laptop!!! ANY help would be HIGHLY appreciated!!
     
  15. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Now that repair permissions is out of our system, I am guessing you want some real advice?

    Turn off you machine, turn it back on and immediately hold command + V.

    This places your machine into verbose mode. Verbose mode let's you see exactly was is happening during the boot process, but also, the shutdown/restart process as well.

    Once booted, use your machine as you would for a few hours (to replicate the problem) then shutdown. Watch the text that appears, it will likely halt at a line.

    Tell us what that line is. From there, I can assist further.
     
  16. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #16
    Am going to do it now..
     
  17. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #17
    Just booted back into ''verbose'' mode,
    Couldn't read all of it, but it said some stuff was false, including the word seagate?? it also said shutdown false or something. Any ideas? Will try to shutdown after some time.....:confused:
     
  18. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #18
    Don't worry about those. Focus on the shutdown messages.
     
  19. Downloadmonster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    #19
    It got stuck at : unmount of home failed(45)
    unmount of net failed (45)

    Any ideas? I have no clue. Something to do with airport?
    All help is welcome and appreciated...:confused::apple:
     

Share This Page