Unable to use old iPhone as iPod after 2.2 upgrade

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by acathrow, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. acathrow macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #1
    When I bought the new iPhone 3G I used my old iPhone as a iPod, it's been working well previously.

    I updated to 2.0 software before I went to the 3G
    Since then I've updated it on each release - the minor point releases and up to 2.1

    I just updated it to 2.2 and now the iPhone is telling me to activate by plugging into iTunes, but iTunes refuses to talk to it until I put in a SIM card.

    I'm on hold with Apple support now, but in the mean time I wondered if anyone else has seen this issue - or even successfully updated a phone to 2.2 without a SIM?
     
  2. acathrow thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #2
    Solution

    I spoke to a very helpful tech who passed me over to an iPhone specialist.
    I was told that the new software updater *requires* an activated SIM for the upgrade to go through. Putting an activated sim in didn't fix it.

    The solution was to power off the iPhone
    Put in an activated SIM
    Hold the HOME key
    Plug the iPhone into the MAC/PC
    iTunes eventually shows a "....recovery" dialog box
    Release the home button
    Click ok and the firmware, software and settings are restored.
    then you go through the activation wizard
    Then it syncs.

    Now you can put the activated sim card back into your other phone.

    I don't know if this is a bug or just a rather aggressive way to stop hackers ...




     
  3. CashGap macrumors 6502

    CashGap

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Music City, USA
    #3
    acathrow, your description of the procedure may help me. Can you please tell me if I can do the following.

    I have two activated, not unlocked, not jailbroken, iPhone 3G's with 2.2.

    I just bought a mint original iPhone from a guy who upgraded to a 3G.

    My son has a family talk "no feature" phone on our account from AT&T.

    Can I:

    - Put 2.2 on the original iPhone by temporarily using my 3G SIM
    - Then return the 3G SIM to my phone
    - Place the family talk SIM in the original iPhone
    - use the original iPhone as a phone only, with data available on via wifi

    Thanks for your help.
     
  4. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #4
    just jailbreak it so its always activated and and you can experiment with the apps since you have a 3G. Thats what I would do.:apple:
     
  5. moneymaster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #5
    the only way around thyis is to jailbreak and activate the iPhone using Pwnage tool or Quickpwn
     

Share This Page