Unable to verify identity AT&T??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jlblodgett, Sep 24, 2013.

  1. jlblodgett macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #1
    I've been trying to activate my new iPhone 5S tonight. AT&T is unable to verify my identity when I log in with my zip code and last four of my ssn. I've been on the phone with AT&T for an hour. They've got the correct IMEI and ICCID numbers - they've got the correct zip code and last 4 of my ssn - it still isn't working.

    Anybody else having this problem?
     
  2. mikejd1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #2
    Yup. Same here bud. SOL.
     
  3. jlblodgett thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
  4. mikejd1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #4
    It blows. I was on with att for over an hour. They said it's an apple server issue and to try again in a couple hours.
     
  5. APPLE-FANATIC macrumors 6502a

    APPLE-FANATIC

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    HEY GUYS,

    This happened to me this afternoon and I was on the phone with both apple and AT&T. This is a glitch with the actual phone. I had to go to the Apple store and they easily determined this was a device failure and replaced it on the spot. I just received my phone today AT&T Silver 32GB and right out the boxed this happened to me.

    My advice is to go directly to your closest Apple store and explain the situation, because AT&T cannot resolve it.

    Hope this helps! I spent 2 hours with Apple and AT&T trying to fix this problem that could not be fixed.
     
  6. jlblodgett thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #6
    AT&T shut down the sim in my iPhone 4S during my 1st phone call to them tonight, and can't reactivate it. So now I effectively have no phone, either 4S or 5S.
     
  7. rebrook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #7
    Same situation here. Hopefully will be resolved in the morning. Otherwise to the AT&T store I go!
     
  8. Teem45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    Yes, this happened to me. I was so excited that the phone showed up early at 10:30 a.m., but it took until 6 tonight to get it working. I was shuttled back and forth between AT&T and Apple all afternoon, exasperated! At one point, the Apple people told me to go to the AT&T store 30 miles away. I didn't want to do that so gave it one last try with Apple and got a senior-level rep in the Apple Care department, and he figured it out. He told me that this issue needs to go to Apple directly for the fix, so call them and insist on talking to someone who knows what they're doing. He said he was trying to get the info out to as many techs as he could. It's apparently an issue that was showing up in iOS 7 testing, also, but I don't know what the issue actually is.

    One thing you could try before calling Apple is turning off the phone, then hold down the home button and power button at the same time you plug the USB cord into your computer (with iTunes open), and then restore the phone to factory settings. He had me try this and said it may fix it, but it didn't in my case. But it might for you. If it doesn't fix it, Apple Care will submit something to Engineering for a reset.

    I was supposed to allow them 24-48 hours to figure out, but they had fixed the issue in my phone within about 15 minutes. YMMV. Just make sure you call Apple on this issue, not AT&T.

    ----------

    Had the same problem this afternoon with no phone, until someone told me to take the new SIM card out of the new phone and put it into the old phone. It worked. I can't remember if the 4S has the same size SIM as the 5 and 5S do, but if it does, try switching the new one over to your old phone until you can get this issue fixed.
     
  9. jlblodgett thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    #9
    My iPhone 5S suddenly activated. I don't know what brought about the change - but it is working now, thank goodness.
     
  10. mikejd1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
  11. Teem45 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #11
    I got that "server issue" line in one of my many calls, too. They're wrong about that. Call Apple Care and insist they fix it. It's a pretty quick fix over the phone.
     

Share This Page