Unblock-Us does not work with ATV4

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by FF1983, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. FF1983 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #1
    You can't change the region on Netflix, unless you sign out of your Netflix account and then back in. With the remote, this takes a lot of time.

    With ATV3, you could change the region on your phone or desktop and it would change the region immediately.

    For now, it doesn't work properly. I suspect this will be fixed in a future update.
     
  2. SCRMedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #2
    Its working fine for me - I just changed the DNS in the Settings like I always have done.
     
  3. FF1983 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #3
    I changed the DNS but when I choose a different Netflix region, it doesn't change with it.
     
  4. SCRMedia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #4
    Have you tried restarting the aTV each time?
     
  5. FF1983 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #5
    Yeah, still doesn't work. :/

    Can you change region like before on ATV3?
     
  6. FF1983 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    #6
    I found a way to get it to work. Sort of.

    The Netflix search engine does work if you change region. If you're on US Netflix and you change to Canada, when you search for a title on Canadian Netflix it shows up. For example Captain Phillips. And it plays. But the Netflix main menu is still locked to US.
     
  7. slayer1551 macrumors member

    slayer1551

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #7
    To get the Netflix Siri search to work I had to go into Accounts>iTunes and Appstore then at the bottom in preferences changed Location to United States.

    Obviously you need unblock us DNS set up so when it launches the Netflix app it can play it.

    Confirmed it by searching for 'The West Wing', on the UK search it shows only on iTunes but changing the location to US it then showed as available on iTunes and Netflix. The only issue is the App store then shows in dollars so in the end I just created a US iTunes account and added it to easily switch between the two
     
  8. arkoh macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #8
    This is terrible!!!
    I just got my new ATV4 a few days ago, and have been struggeling to get Unblok-us to work ever since! Still not working!... Anyone here, that has found a way to get this to work like it did before!?? Its killing me! :-/
     
  9. geesus macrumors regular

    geesus

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    #9
    Make sure you close Netflix down fully - i.e. double-press the home button and swipe it up, then change the region and then reopen it again.
     
  10. -Gonzo- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #10
    Seems Netflix on ATV4 is performing the same as on iPhone when changing regions. It's ever so annoying which either results in logging out completely or waiting for an error message to appear.
    Perhaps I should stick with ATV3 and hold fire on getting an ATV4.
     
  11. geesus macrumors regular

    geesus

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    #11
    This works fine for me. You don't even need to reboot the device. Just close Netflix down fully before switching regions. You don't need to sign out your account.
     
  12. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #12
    I have an Unblock-US subscription, that I haven't used in a while, anyway I can get HBO Go and other US services using this?
     
  13. -Gonzo- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #13
    I assume you meant 'can I' rather than 'I can'?
    Yes you can, I use it on my ATV3 for watching the latest season of Gotham on Fox Now, Heroes Rebourn on NBC, Marvels Agents of Shield on Watch abc.
    And along with my iPhone I AirPlay the latest seasons of The Flash and Arrow using The CW app too.
     
  14. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #14
    Yeah, it was a question rather than a statement. I worded it pretty badly! :)

    Thats good, do I need a US Credit Card to access these services?
     
  15. -Gonzo- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    #15
    Not with any of the ones I mentioned you don't as you can watch certain things for free, some the day after air date and some a week after air date.
    I personally don't use any of the subscription apps like HBO etc as all I want to watch I can do so without paying.
    The only one I do currently pay for is Netflix.
     
  16. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #16
    Sweet, looks like I might get an Apple TV tonight! :)
     
  17. Poontaco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    #17
    I cancelled my cable service.
    I use the Netflix, Hulu, HBO Now, and Showtime apps as a replacement. I love it.
    All I needed was UnblockUs, and a US iTunes account - that I add credit to with US iTunes gift cards.
     
  18. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #18
    Now that is a good idea!!
     

Share This Page