unboxing 8800gt pictures

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by doastler, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. doastler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
    #1
    Just got my 8800 card today and I thought some of you may be interested to see what is in the box.
    By the way the card works great with the 2600 in leopard
     

    Attached Files:

  2. yippy macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    What are the two adapters it comes with? One I can see is a DVI->VGA but what is the second?

    Thanks for the pics.
     
  3. doastler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. doastler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
  6. macanudo macrumors regular

    macanudo

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    Did you buy the upgrade kit through the Apple online store? I can't find it.
     
  7. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #7
    It does not work with older Mac Pros just yet. I think they are releasing one that will soon though.
     
  8. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #8
    What I think is amazing is how OS X will work and agree with two different manufacturer drivers in the system to work simultaneously. If you done that on Windows, it would be a meltdown. Windows would be having a hissy fit.
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Has anyone ordered the 8800 GT upgrade for their Mac Pro with an 8800 GT in it already?

    As everyone already knows, I want two. I want confirmation that the twins can share a bedroom.
     
  10. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #10
    Awesome, mine supposedly ships on the 3rd.

    How hard was it to install? Is the power cable hard to plug in on the logic board?
     
  11. doastler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
    #11
    Answer

    It was really easy to install just had to take out the old card first then connect the power cable its a little fiddly and then plug in the new car.
    The computer feels much more responsive with the new card.
    Both card also work in vista 64 ultimate as well.
    I played crysis last night for the first time.
    I was great.
    David
     
  12. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  13. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #13
  14. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #14
    The second, as mentioned is a small DVI extension which is used when you have two displays conntected. The two DVI ports on cards are so close that you can't hook up two Apple displays (due to the size of the plugs) without the special DVI extension.
     
  15. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #15
    Probably because Apple puts a higher priority on supplying 8800s to people buying new Mac Pros instead of just a card.
     
  16. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #16
    Excellent news. Thanks for that - mine shipped today! Four days early.

    It seems like a rather long wait for just a video card, but it is what it is. I ordered on January 10th, and my card shipped today. Looking forward to seeing how Aperture performs.

    Off topic, I want to sell my ATi 2600 card. What should I ask for it?
     
  17. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    Actually, I have two different cards in my Vista box running three monitors, and they're working AOK...
     
  18. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #18
    Yes, but isn't one either PCI-E & a PCI card, or AGP and a PCI card.

    Try putting in two different PCI-E cards, and Windows will have a hissy fit between NVIDIA and ATI drivers fighting.

    NVIDIA and ATI wont agree with each other with the same slot type.
     
  19. doastler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
    #19
    Sell 2600

    I am not sure it will be worth selling your 2600 card maybe keep it incase you ever have a problem with the 8800 card and have to send it back for repairs etc. That way you could still use your rig
     
  20. Trishul macrumors regular

    Trishul

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    #20
    running 8800GT & 2600XT

    i just got my 8800GT finally!!

    to anyone wondering about running 2600XT and 8800GT together i can also confirm it works perfectly. I have the 30" ACD running off the 8800GT which is in the Number 1 slot, and a 46" LCD off the 2600XT in the Number 2 PCI slot. Before i wasn't able to play a DVD (from VIDEO_TS folder) on my LCD TV satisfactorily without making it the sole display, it would be a bit jerky, and i noticed slight lag when running some videos over the 2 screens, but now with them having independent cards i can run a DVD full screen on the TV and play 1080p on the monitor with absolutely no problems.

    So even if you aren't going to have 3+ monitors, you should find a benefit in running 2 displays off 2 cards.

    Also everything just feels a bit more responsive, not done any significant tests (i know its going to be faster) but i feel my mac pro is now complete, im so glad i went for this option rather than CTO with the 8800GT, i would have wasted all that time waiting for it, and now i have 2 graphics cards, sweet!

    PS - Mac Pro still as whisper quiet as usual :)
     
  21. doastler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bacchus Marsh
    #21
    Hi

    I am glad you finally got your card.
    Is was worth the wait.
    I have been playing crysis all day and it is great all settings high 1690 x 900 30fps
    I may now overclock it to 700mhz to see how it goes.
    David
     
  22. Mike Teezie macrumors 68020

    Mike Teezie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    #22
    Got mine installed. It was easier to plug the power cable in than I thought it would be.
     

Share This Page