Understanding Activity Monitor

Discussion in 'macOS' started by peletrane, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. peletrane macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    So, if the Activity Monitor notes that I'm using 96% of the CPU (quad core Mac Pro, 2.66 GHz) for Itunes and hand brake, and the listing notes that Handbrake CPU rating is in the early 300s, does this mean that the OSX is using all 4 cores, 3 of them for HB?? Sorry if this is a dumb question.
     
  2. Blogger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Local
    #2
    When you say listing, which listing do you mean?
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    if handbrake is using 300%ish then its just going to be random cores i think. i dont know if thats true, but i do know taht OSX would be using all cores (i.e. 400%, each core=100%)
     
  4. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #4
  5. peletrane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    The graphic on the right side. I'll check out the O'Reilley link. Thanks!
     

Share This Page