Understanding Exchange/Entourage Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sfscott, Oct 13, 2008.

1. sfscott macrumors member

I am new to the Mac world.

I run my personal world on Outlook 2008 and Exchange on a Lenovo/Vista Business platform, and it works fine, including with ActiveSync and my iPhone.

I am thinking of getting a Mac and want to understand what if any issues I might encounter using Entourage with Exchange. Using Outlook with Parallels kind of defeats the purpose.

I have heard that you cannot use.pst files. How does data get imported?

2. nadyne macrumors 6502a

Entourage will just download your mail, contacts, and calendar from Exchange.

If you've got data archived in PSTs (that is, old data that is no longer stored on Exchange but is only available in your PSTs) that you want to access, Entourage does not currently have this ability. There are some third-party solutions available; the Entourage MVPs have documented several options.

What features of Outlook do you rely on the most?

Regards,
    Nadyne.

3. sfscott thread starter macrumors member

Most used features

I am a heavy email, calendar and contacts user. I pass calendar invites back and forth between my home machine and my work machine (Dell/XP/Office2003).

I also will mail vCards around. As far as .pst files go, I do not archive items anymore as I find that problemmatic, but I will import .pst files, such as an office contact list or as a way to update my contacts from one machine to the other without re-entering data.

I use a fair number of email folders. I also keep note on the notes tab, but understand that those won't sync.

I don't do tasks, journals or heavy rule-based filtering.

Seeing as you are from MSFT, if I have everything stored on my hosted exchange server, would I simply configure login details for Entourage, and have my data replicate on the client side automatically?