Understanding Processor Speeds...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mountbike, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. mountbike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    My wife is about to purchase a new laptop. I'd love for her to switch from PC to Mac.

    Her new laptop must be able to run the Chirotouch Software she uses at work. The software recommends "Pentium IV or Dual Core 2.4 GHz processor or above".

    I know that "Dual Core" is not the same as "Core 2 Duo", but I don't know enough about processor speeds to make an educated comparison. We're considering a MacBook with a 2.13 Core 2 Duo processor. I'm hoping the community can help me determine whether or not this 2.13 would meet the software requirements.

    Thanks!
     
  2. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    Don't pay too much mind to the brand "Core 2 Duo", that is a line of processors made by Intel, much like Pintos made by Ford.

    Dual core simply means there are 2 processor cores on one chip. (called a die) The Core Duo means the intel chip has 2 cores (meaning it's of course, dual core). Core "2" Duo means it is the second line of the core series. Remember the Ford Mustang II?

    So Core Solo/Duo/Quad tells you how many cores the intel chip has, the presence or absence of a "2" denotes whether it is the original or second design.

    The Core series of intel chips will beat the pants off intel's Pentium line in most measures, as a note. Also remember that Pentiums were named in the same manner, Pentium, then Pentium II then III then 4.

    I can't answer the question about performance, though, I'm sure someone will.
     
  3. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #3
    I'm going to assume that a 2.13 GHz Macbook is not going to meet the recommended system requirements of 2.4 GHz. On the other hand, it's not far off, and if you don't want to go for something faster, I'm sure it will still run, it just might be a bit slow. After all, you said they were "recommended", not "minimum".
     
  4. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    The site says minimum reqs. It also says you need Windows XP Professional. Isn't this application for touch-pads?
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    While 2.13 does not equal 2.4, the requirements also ask for a P4, and the 2.13 C2D will completely destroy any P4.
     
  6. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    I assume this applies to you:
    Are you also aware you will have to run (and buy) Windows XP (if XP is compatible with this software) on your Mac unless there is a Mac version for your software?
    I'm not sure if you can install other versions of Windows on a Mac, IE Windows Small Business Server 2003 or whatever else.

    Is it possible you could go for a MBP 13" @ 2.53GHz, or even wait until the next generation of MBPs come out, I'd do the latter if possible.

    The recommended specs for your computer are:
    I'm not sure how a little MB will handle this, if the first quote applies (at the top of my post) then it may be OK, but I'm really thinking it won't be enough.
    But maybe I'm wrong, I've never used any software like this on any computer before.
     
  7. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #7
    I'm sure those specs ^ are for the server version ;)
     
  8. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Ah your right, I didn't read the specs further down the page,
    In that case, I'd say it would go just fine, although I don't really know :p :p
     
  9. MrCheeto macrumors 68030

    MrCheeto

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    Being MrCheeto, I say a lot of things without ever really knowing... Yeah, I roq
     
  10. chill. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #10
    2.13 core 2 duo will definitely meet the requirements... however as said before it looks like this program is only compatible with windows xp
     
  11. mountbike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    #11
    @chill. Yes, I was planning on running a virtual xp machine on the macbook.

    I'm hearing that the 2.13 core 2 duo is way more powerful than the P4, but not necessarily more powerful than the dual core 2.4. The software requirements are not clear then... Too bad. It would suck to purchase a new laptop only to suffer performance issues with the macbook.
     
  12. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #12
    well, what kind of PC is it running on now?

    what are its specs?

    I keep seeing Pentium IV in all its specs, so I'm sure any laptop made in the last few years should be more than fine

    honestly, the software doesnt look any more complicated than any other contact manager, say something like ACT, which can be run on just about anything...
     
  13. SOT DOC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Maine
    #13
    Is this new laptop for work or home with occasionally logging onto her server at work? If you really want to get her to switch to mac, have her look at macpractice DC.
     
  14. pellets007 macrumors 6502a

    pellets007

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    The Core 2 Duo running at 2.13 is better than a Core Duo running at 2.4. You should be able to run it fine in XP.
     
  15. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #15
    I think it just phrased wrong. I think the intention is to say 2.4GHz Pentium 4 (or AMD equivalent), or faster or any dual core processor.
     
  16. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #16
    Its definitely above minimum requirements. Remember, a Core duo at 2.33 is out performed by a core 2 duo at 1.86.
     
  17. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #17
    Looks like the software isn't very processor intensive. It should run in virtual machine fine.

    There are also Mac OS X based options if you google:
    chiropractic software mac
     

Share This Page