Undervolting i9 MBP.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mario.jr, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. mario.jr macrumors member

    mario.jr

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi.
    Has anyone able to undervolt a 2018 i9/i7 MBP using Volta?
    I tried to run on mine, but it does not look like to work. :(

    Regards!
     
  2. DeanPSN macrumors regular

    DeanPSN

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #2
    Why do you want to undervolt?
    Just curious since im using the i9 myself.
     
  3. mario.jr thread starter macrumors member

    mario.jr

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #3
    longer battery, less heat, longer components life.
     
  4. DeanPSN macrumors regular

    DeanPSN

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    I think Apple will further improve the new MacBooks through software updates.
    From what i see online the heat between all the i7's and i9 is more or less the same.
    I've seen recently a video comparing the i7 2.6ghz and the i9 actually had better battery since it doesn't need to turbo as much as the i7's. I will try to find the video on YouTube.

    Anyway, i'm planing to replace the stock thermal paste with Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut on my next day off for my own peace of mind, since Apple applies the paste like ****.
     
  5. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Voiding a warranty on a laptop the price tag of a used car should not be called peace of mind...
     
  6. DeanPSN macrumors regular

    DeanPSN

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #6
    Not really voiding anything.
    I work in this field and they won't notice it was ever opened + i'm OCD AF .
    I did this with my previous MBPs and never had an issue going for warranty. (Keyboards, lcd delamination, speakers and so on)
     
  7. AppleHaterLover macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    #7
    Undervolting does not work on post 2015 Macs.
     
  8. magbarn macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #8
    Yup, Apple locked them down somehow. Even bootcamp won't allow it either with Throttlestop or the Intel app. I also have a MSI GS65 4+ lbs gaming laptop with 1070 Max-Q and 6 core i7. It would throttle until I drop the voltages by 125mV. It dropped the CPU temps by almost 10 degrees...
     
  9. mario.jr thread starter macrumors member

    mario.jr

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #9
    I do it on my windows machines via throttlestop :(
    Sad news :(
    Thanks for the reply
     
  10. Meldalinn macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #10
    Have you tried to do it with SIP disabled?
     
  11. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    No, I think they're locked down in the firmware.
     
  12. Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #12
    I thought you had undervolted yours?
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    I used Volta to limit the wattage, not undervolt. While the app allows the slider on the voltage I saw no change in performance of voltage. Change the wattage was successful, and the temps and benchmarks bore that out. However I noticed after the second supplemental update, the laptop was running a lot cooler then it was beforehand. So much so, I'm not even using that app until I'm doing something that is causing a lot of heat. So far my tasks are such that I'm seeing 50c normally and 80c in LR which I can live with.
     

Share This Page

12 August 20, 2018