Unibody 13in" 2.4 Ghz vs. Macbook Pro 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by djoost, May 20, 2009.

1. djoost macrumors newbie

Hi All,

I am a recent college graduate (4 days ago!!!) who has used a 17" Powerbook G4 all through college, it's been amazing to me and I've never had any problems with it. Now I am looking at buying a new mac to use for work next year. I am debating between a 2.4 Ghz 13" Macbook and a 15" Macbook Pro. My job will be about 90% travel, however this is only for one year. I was hoping for some advice on my purchase. Right now I'm leaning toward the 13" but what are your opinions?

1) Do any of you 13" owners regret how small the screen is?
    2) Are there any technical deficiencies with the new unibody 13" or the 15" Pro?
    3) Does anyone do a heavy amount of traveling with the 15"? If so does the larger size become a problem?
    4) Even though both models are 2.4 Ghz, is the 15" more powerful/responsive?

NOTE: I will be using the computer for web work, chat, very very light audio and video editing, word processing and spreadsheets, and very very light photoshop work.

Thanks in advance for the help!

2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

The smaller screen of the 13" macbook will have a smaller resolution, and the screen itself isn't as good as the one in the MBP.

I don't think the video card will be an issue for you.

However, once you use a 13" laptop, even a 15" one seems large. I went from a thin and light 14" to a Macbook Pro, and even 2 years later I still miss the small and lightness of my Samsung.

3. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

1) I sometimes regret it, simply because of the inferior panel that is in the Macbooks compared to the Macbook Pros, but then I remember that I bought it for the size, and the weight difference is pretty big when carrying it around all the time.

2) It's going to be hard to say, since by now it will be a computer to computer case. I wouldn't really worry about it.