Unibody 17" plastic "crinkling"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by juliancs, Mar 22, 2009.

1. juliancs macrumors 6502

Odd question. When I press (very gently, mind you!), along the strip of black plastic on the hinge (under and around the Macbook Pro label), it..crackles and crinkles. It does so further if I then start to close the hinge.

Should I be worried?

Many thanks!

2. Minimoose 360 macrumors 65816

Minimoose 360

I've never tried that before, but I've found mine does that too. I believe it's normal.

3. dingus macrumors member

If you develop a weird compulsion to press and poke at odd spots on your laptop, yes. Otherwise, no.

4. Jottle macrumors 6502

My 15'' does this too. It's a little disconcerting, but the black piece is on there pretty tight. It only wiggles around like that and "crinckles" when the lid is closed.

5. Mark2000 macrumors regular

Mark2000

Anyone notice the bottom plate of the mbps is very soft? I worry while picking it up it may flex and touch the mobo.

6. bossxii macrumors 68000

I have, and it is a bit annoying. Looking at the bottom there is only 1 screw in the center of each side. It feels/looks like to me there is flex in the bottom cover that in my case pops, or creaks. More annoyed at the sound then worried it's effecting the inside as it doesn't seem to move very far, not measurable anyhow.

I only noticed it when I went to pick it up off the couch cushion by lifting one corner when the lid was open. I closed the lid and it didn't seem to do it. I'm not too picky about these types of details but will keep watch if the "flexing" becomes worse.

7. NATO macrumors 68000

NATO

I wouldn't worry about that, Apple have put a number of 'pins' which are designed to hold the base plate away from the motherboard, there's even a little catch mechanism at the centre of the plate which locks in and stops it bowing outwards/inwards.

8. j.edmund macrumors newbie