Unibody consensus: 32, or 64?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by raymondu999, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. raymondu999 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #1
    I've been hearing and reading in places that the unibody mbp is 32, and not 64 bit. Could someone with technical expertise regarding the actual specs (not just reading off a site or an article), care to elaborate?:(

    EDIT: I'm talking about the nVidia chipset itself. the chip is the new Penryn, and it's Core 2 architecture, and will be 64-bit regardless. The OS, Leopard, will be 64-bit (or partially). But the chipset itself? Kinda like when they had the first C2D MBPs. the chip was merom (64bit) but the chipset was 32bit.
     
  2. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You mean the the OS and system hardware? They have been 64bit since Apple adopted the Core 2 Duo processor.
     
  3. raymondu999 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #3
    Sorry, I phrased my question badly. Edited my starter post.
     
  4. Firanide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Canadia
    #4
    In another thread, we discussed whether it is a 32 or 64-bit chipset, but apparently no one actually knows for sure. All anyone can do is make educated guesses for the time being until someone gets a confirmed answer from Apple or nVidia.
     
  5. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
  6. raymondu999 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    The thing is I want people who actually understand the internals, in order to debunk what is true and not about that statement.
     
  7. Firanide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Canadia
    #7
    +1

    An official answer from Apple would be even better though. :)
     
  8. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

    mlemonds

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #8
    would the computer be able to support 4 GB+ of ram if the chipset was not 64bit?
     
  9. raymondu999 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #9
    Don't think so. I think that's what we had when Apple released the first c2d mbps
     

Share This Page