unibody for web design

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nks14, Feb 2, 2009.

1. nks14 macrumors newbie

just sold my 2.1 whitebook and i want to buy a new unibody.
    the main problem is that here in romania apple notebooks are very expensive:
    -mb unibody 2.0ghz - 1607$
    -mb unibody 2.4ghz - 2008$
    -mbp unibody 2.4, 15" 2.4ghz - 2443$
    -open box mbp 2.4ghz (early 08) - 1546$
    they all have 2gb and the hdd differs from one model to another (standard apple)

so, my question to you, is what to buy, considering that i'm a web designer and i use coda/photoshop cs3/illustrator cs3 (running at the same time) and maybe i'll give a try to cs4.

ps: still a student, but if let's say the 2.4mbp would really help my work, i'd spend all my money on it.

2. Theophany macrumors 6502

Theophany

The current whitebook will handle all of that easily. No need to splurge if it's not necessary, plus, the new graphics chipset in the whitebook also means it will easily handle Snow Leopard when it is released. :)

3. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

I can say with 100% confidence that the 2.4GHz MacBook Pro will give no performance boost whatsoever over the 2.4GHz MacBook in the applications you listed.

That said, I don't think the difference between the 2.0GHz and the 2.4GHz would be that great either - benchmarks have shown it to be marginal. Go with the 2.0GHz model.

4. Doju macrumors 68000

No, don't. Backlit keyboard is godly.

5. nks14 thread starter macrumors newbie

400$ for .4ghz and a bigger hard drive? i don't think so. i tought about buying the 2.0, just like neiltc13 said. and with the rest of the money upgrade the RAM(2->4gb), buy a new adaptor (i also have a 19" monitor).

i'd like to buy applecare too, but in romania they don't sell applecare, although we have applecare service centers. by the way, is it possible to buy applecare from ebay and register it to a fictive address in the US? i cannot register it in romania ...