Unibody Macbook Pro 13", RAM Advice UK.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -Node1-, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. -Node1- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi everyone, Please can those people of the UK reccomend where i would be able to get 4GB of RAM from for the Macbook Pro, Cheaply? I'm new to the 'Mac Upgrades' Arena. So what would i be looking for? or is there specific brands i need to get?

    I have the stock 2GB ram in there at the moment.

    Thanks.
     
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    There are no specific brands you have to buy. Just have to buy the right models.

    Best option is to buy from http://www.crucial.com/uk

    They have plenty of different types, and you can just choose your MBP version on the front page which will give you all the ones they sell which are compatible.

    Hopes this helps.
     
  3. -Node1- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Hi Thank you for the quick reply, I have looked at curcial but the prices are very high. They only seem to do 1x 4GB stick, which seems very expensive.

    Wouldnt it be cheaper if they did 2x 2GB Sticks?

    I was looking for somthing under £50.

    I have the latest 13" Macbook pro Model.
     
  4. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  5. -Node1- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Thank you Joel, I did look a couple of weeks ago and they didnt show that! but thats right around my budget Thanks man!
     
  6. harry20larry macrumors 6502a

    harry20larry

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #6
    I bought from crucial 4GB (2x 2GB) of ram and put it in my macbook unibody (non-pro) and it worked great, would recommend to anyone
     
  7. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    They must have been out of stock. However it should've still been listed.

    No problem mate. Enjoy the performance upgrade.
     
  8. -Node1- thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Well I've already changed the stock hard disk to a Western Digital 5400RPM 500GB. Since i needed more space.

    I'll put 4GB of RAM in there too.

    This MBP will be a desktop replacement of many sorts so is there anything else anyone could think of i could, do or upgrade to maximise performence?

    I'll be doing Photography with Photoshop & Apature. Occasional Video Editing and Some Print work in Illustrator.

    And it'll be connected to a desktop monitor.

    I'm quite Technical when it comes to PC's. Having only owned Mac's since 2007 though i'm not up to scratch with various tweaks & other upgrades.
     

Share This Page