Unibody MBP infrared receiver broken?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mgpg89, May 13, 2009.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    I got three infrared Apple remotes.
    None of them work with my unibody MBP, but they all work with my iMac.

    So probably the infrared receiver is broken, right?
    My MBP is still under hardware warranty, so it should be free to get that fixed, right?
     
  2. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #2
    Sounds like it, I'd definitely get it checked out. The remote that came with my iMac opened Front Row on my MBP the moment I used it near the notebook.
     
  3. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    I'll call AppleCare in a bit and see what they say.
     
  4. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #4
    But first this ... I check the Apple remote troubleshooting guide:

    When you use the Apple Remote, make sure of the following:

    You are using the remote within 30 feet of the computer.
    You have an unobstructed line-of-sight to the front of the computer.
    You are pointing the lens end of the Apple Remote directly at the front of the computer.
    Your computer is on and awake.
    The "Disable remote control infrared receiver" checkbox in the Security pane of System Preferences is NOT checked.

    My MBP is on and awake, but it's in clamshell mode (closed lid) so is it possible that this causes the infrared receiver to turn off?

    I'll test my remote with an open lid in a bit.
     
  5. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    doesn't work with the lid open either ... bollocks

    i'll try and ring applecare in a bit
     
  6. mgpg89 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #6
    I reinstalled Mac OS X and the problem's gone.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    It was probably just a driver issue; good to hear you have it resolved.
     

Share This Page