Unibody white macbook, cheapest price possible?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by matthunter3, Nov 23, 2009.

1. matthunter3 macrumors newbie

I'm looking at selling my 2006 1st generation macbook pro and buying the new white polycarbonate macbook.

The macbook costs £800 new from apple, and i'm wondering if there is any place I can get a discount or any way I can get a substantial discount - I am a student in further education (college doing A Levels). But i'm wondering if any of you guys know any tricks to get this machine as cheaply as possible or if (a long shot I know) apple are likely to start selling any reasonably priced refurb machines in the near future.

2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

thegoldenmackid

I would imagine that the EDU store is going to be a bigger discount then third-party retailers. I would say that the refurbs won't trickle in until 2010, but it's all speculation.

3. matthunter3 thread starter macrumors newbie

I just read an engadget review of the unibody macbook - I think I might try and put the extra money towards a Macbook Pro because it doesn't appear too durable, which is a shame because it would otherwise be brilliant.

4. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

Kebabselector

Looks o.k. when I've handled them. What are engadget attempting to do with one, saw concrete?

5. matthunter3 thread starter macrumors newbie

http://www.engadget.com/2009/10/22/unibody-macbook-late-2009-review/
    Doesn't look like it would fare too well, and I would prefer something more durable (I cant stand scratches).