Uninstall Snow Leopard and Install Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by seanadams99, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. seanadams99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to buy a new refurb that will ship with Snow Leopard. I'm mainly buying it for the HD, RAM, and physical upgrades.

    I have Final Cut Studio and Photoshop and I don't want to pay the $299 upgrade and rather stick with leopard on the new machine.

    Is there any way I can uninstall Snow Leopard and install Leopard on the new mac so that I can continue to use my softwares?

    I need to know before I purchase the new one ASAP so i can sell my older machine.

    Please help!!

    Also I'm not extremely tech savy so if you can give me a good explanation please!

    -sean
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    If the computer you bought is a Unibody model, then no...it won't run on Leopard.

    You cannot install an OS that's older than the hardware with OS X I believe. Photoshop will run under SL, you'll just have to install the Rosetta component if it's a PPC version of Photoshop (I use an old copy of Photoshop CS under SL 10.6.2 with Rosetta and it runs just fine).
     
  3. seanadams99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #3
    Hm okay so Photoshop CS4 should run since its the previous version? What exactly is Rossetta?

    And you think final cut pro will run?
     
  4. mcruzader macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #4
    Everything will run perfectly, Rosetta is used for when an app was created with the PPC architecture but you want to run it on intel.
     
  5. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #5
    CS4 is the current version of PS. It will run perfectly
     
  6. seanadams99 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    #6
    Thanks so much haha. Okay I don't mean to be redundant here, but anyone got a solid answer on if Final Cut Studio will operate on Snow Leopard? I have Final Cut 5, so it's an older version. I believe now they're at 7. Anyone?

    :eek:
     
  7. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    http://snowleopard.wikidot.com/ says it works just isn't very stable. You may be able to use something like VMWare or Parallels to "install" a virtual machine for Leopard within your Snow Leopard installation for programs like this though.
     
  8. Denarius macrumors 6502a

    Denarius

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    #8
    We upgraded to Final Cut Studio 2 when we went to Leopard as we had tonnes of issues with it on Leopard so I really don't fancy your chances on Snow Leopard. Can't remember what they were now I think about it, but I remember that Compressor wouldn't work at all. Upgrading's not that pricey though relative to the cost of the machine.
     
  9. Pax macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    #9
    Seems to be incorrect

    My late '09 MBP came with 10.6.0 installed. I just booted it off a backup of my old '07 MB which was running 10.5.8. The MBP booted just fine, Mail and Safari worked. I didn't check every application etc, but I can say that a Unibody MBP sold with 10.6.0 definitely WILL run 10.5.8.

    In fact, I would probably recommend downgrading to 10.5.8. I kept with 10.6 which meant I had to upgrade Parallels and OmniGraffle which cost me Real Money, and 10.6 is still buggy. So I am unhappy.

    If you do downgrade, do if BEFORE copying your user files across, I expect it would be a real headache downgrading eg iTunes, iPhoto libraries.
     
  10. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #10

    Yes, Final Cut 5 does run on Snow Leopard -- just make sure that you --all-- update to Snow Leopard and your applications installed.

    PhotoShop Extended CS3 also runs well on Snow Leopard (I use it myself).
     
  11. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #11
    No, he won't be able to do that -- Apple's EULA does NOT allow to run the Mac OS X client operating system in virtualization, and both Parallels and VMWare Fusion check if you are trying to install the OS X client and won't allow it. This can only be done with OS X Server, and even then it does not work well. For working audio support, for example, you usually need a driver from the HACKINTOSH COMMUNITY!

    So there goes another big thank you to Apple for making the OS X experience suck so much!
     

Share This Page