All iPads University Options

Discussion in 'iPad' started by TaylorWright619, Mar 7, 2013.

1. TaylorWright619 macrumors member

Hi all,

I'm looking for a good setup since I am just beginning Uni again. I am studying a Bachelor of Teaching (Secondary) / Bachelor of Science.

Currently I have a 15" 2012 rMBP, an iPhone 5, iPad 32GB (1st Gen) and a 21" iMac which is hooked up to my 32" TV (the iMac is only used to watch movies on etc).

I have been taking my rMBP to Uni for a few days, and while it is obviously fantastic at a lot of stuff, when it's in it's case in my bag, it takes up most of the room, it isn't particularly light when you have to carry it for 6 hours, and the size is probably too big for the university desks.

I took my iPad today which can no longer be updated. The iPad is reasonably slow, but seems to work ok.

I was considering buying an iPad Mini - it sounds great - good battery life, small, light and thin. But when looking into this deeper, it wouldn't be very practical to do a full assignment on (as far as I am aware). I am doing a lot of extra work like assignments at uni in the mornings before I start class. A further downside to the Mini is the non Retina screen. I love the Retina screen on my rMBP and iPhone 5.

It seems like there a few really cool science apps for the iPad that would be beneficial to buy.

So basically what I am wondering is, what would be the best option/setup to take to uni?

2. phoenixsan macrumors 65816

phoenixsan

Please....

dont take offense , just being clear about me not mocking you, but, have you considered an used Macbook Air?

Just my 2 cents/thoughts in these idle hours of the morning....

:):apple:

3. TaylorWright619, Mar 7, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2013

TaylorWright619 thread starter macrumors member

No offence taken!

I did think about an 11" Macbook Air. The problem is, then I would have 2 laptops. The Macbook Air would be useless if I was not at uni since I have my rMBP as well.