iPod touch Unjailbreaking iPod Touch 4G iOS 6.1.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MacDude21, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. MacDude21, Jan 1, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014

    MacDude21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #1
    Long story short, I need my iPod Touch 4G with iOS 6.1.3 unjailbroken. I have a tethered jailbreak, and have tried reseting it, restoring, and updating, and none have worked.
     
  2. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #2
    Do you have your SHSH blobs from 6.1.4 saved?
     
  3. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
  4. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Shsh blobs are different than an iTunes backup.
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    You didn't answer my question. Do you have SHSH blobs for the version of iOS you wish to restore?

    FYI, if you don't quote someone, they won't get a notification that you replied.
     
  7. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #7
    I just want to go to iOS 6.1.5. I didn't save the SHSH blobs. I would go to iOS 7 but it's an iPod 4. iOS 6.1.5 is the latest version of iOS 6
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    If you just want to install iOS 6.1.5, put the iPod into DFU mode and restore.
     
  9. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #9

    Restore from iTunes or Redsn0w?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    From iTunes. And if a normal restore doesn't work, you'll need to put the iPod into DFU mode and then restore it.
     
  12. MacDude21, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014

    MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #12
    Tried DFU mode, it said it was not eligable for the requested build. I am on the latest version of iTunes, and even after this the iPod still boots. But what do I do now??
    There is an update I can download. Should I do this from the device to unjailbreak it?

    ----------

    Forgot to quote you so you'd get a message, so just ignore this part.
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Which iPod touch do you have, are you sure it's a 4G model? Are you letting iTunes download iOS for you, or are you holding down shift while you press the restore button and selecting a file you've got saved locally?

    If you use OTA updates on a jailbroken phone, it'll fail and you'll have to put your device in DFU mode and restore that way.
     
  14. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #14
    I am absolutely certain I am on a 4G iPod Touch. I am not holding down shift.
    Also, I don't care if it wipes my iPod in the processes of unjailbreaking. I really don't care, either way I am going to wipe my iPod, because I am giving it to a family member because I have an iPhone 5S now.
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    Try typing gs.apple.com in your internet browser, I bet it'll go to cydia. If it does, then that means you need to fix your hosts file
     
  16. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    It's strange that it won't allow you to restore.

    I had something similar happen with my iPhone 3Gs a long time ago though. I think it had to do with Tiny Umbrella? Do you have any entries in your hosts file for "gs.apple.com"?

    ----------

    Beat me to it!
     
  17. MacDude21 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #17
    and

    I used a family member's computer to restore it and it worked fine. Every single app is functional and it is on 6.1.5. But why does it go to cydia?
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    great! it goes to cydia because your hosts file is redirecting you to cydia's server instead of apple's server

    it's the same with how all those "adblockers" on cydia work; the adlinks are redirecting to nothing instead of going to the ad's servers
     

Share This Page