Unknown Error 3000 installing Beta 4

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Jdem2, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. Jdem2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    NJ and PA
    #1
    Ok, I am at my wits end!

    Been trying for hours to figure out why I keep getting the dreaded Unknown Error 3000 while trying to install Beta 4 on my iPhone 5 through iTunes.

    There are not a lot of reasons to get an error in the 3000 range, but mostly it is because gs.apple.com, can't be reached.

    Problem is that I was able to restore to 6.1.4 twice, with no problem so I know I can "see" the update servers.

    FYI:

    My UDID is registered to my account.
    I can restore to 6.1.4.
    I've tried multiple USB ports.
    I've tried multiple USB cables.

    Anyone have ANY input here would be greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks in advance everyone!
     
  2. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
  3. Jdem2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    NJ and PA
    #3
    Reinstalling? No.

    I am willing to try anything though at this point. ;)

    Stand by!
     
  4. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
  5. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #5
    Seems like a lot of work.
    Uninstalling iTunes and then reinstalling it is not as simple as it sounds (to do it correctly).
     
  6. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Well what do you suggest? He's already tried the basic things.
     
  7. Jdem2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    NJ and PA
    #7
    Thank you batting1000...was about to try this...

    Then saw this as I was about to try reinstalling. Installed iTunes Beta and it is now in the middle of the update!! :D

    Thanks SO much!!
     
  8. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Sounds good, let me know how it goes :)
     
  9. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #9
    No, I suppose you're right.
    It is so easy though to uninstall iTunes incorrectly, leaving even more difficulties to be faced.

    A last resort, to be sure- but one that appears to be unavoidable in this instance.
     
  10. Jdem2 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    NJ and PA
    #10
    Install went great and everything humming along fine now.

    Thank you!!!
     
  11. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
  12. JCCL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #12
    I just did an OTA update, reset settings and everything is fine. However does anyone know if there is a way to instal beta 4 in Windows, since there is not beta available for that?
     
  13. TrenttonY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    #13
    Can you restore to the latest iOS 6 from beta 4 on Windows?
     
  14. tekboi macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #14
    had the same issue



    ended up installing the beta iTunes 11.1 and now everything is going smoothly
     
  15. TomH TX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #15
    I had the same error 3000. Wound up doing the OTA update on an iphone4 and ipad2. Have since downloaded itunes 11.1, but have not installed it yet. Guess I need to go back and read up on moving the library, etc......
     
  16. mbassan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    #16
    i am having this same issue. how do i do to resolve it?
     
  17. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #17
    have you tried what has been suggested in the thread (using the new iTunes beta, etc.)?
     
  18. chekz0414 macrumors 6502a

    chekz0414

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    FL
    #18
    Always use the newer iTunes when Apple ships a beta build, with a new iTunes build. (on Mac). 11.1 might be the shipping version of iTunes that will be needed to sync iOS 7 devices.
     
  19. edenwaith macrumors 6502a

    edenwaith

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    #19
    Thanks

    I encountered this issue (3000 error) several times when trying to install iOS 7 ß4 on an iPhone 4S. Installing the iTunes 11.1 ß resolved the problem for me.
     
  20. shaansingh macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Maryland, US
    #20
    Yes!

    Thanks a lot... this was the solution for iOS 7 Beta 6 too. Just had to install iTunes 11.1 Beta to get it to work. YES!!
     

Share This Page