Unknown Error on my MBP after upgrading RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by iceman600, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. iceman600 macrumors member

    iceman600

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #1
    i just bought a RAM from newegg

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...cm_re=gskill_ddr3_1333-_-20-231-295-_-Product

    after installing it, it gives me an error... after powering it down and reseting the pr ram it just goes to a blue screen. Now im currently doing a memtest. i dont kno if that will help but is there a proper installarion procedure to do this?

    i bought this because it says it will work on a the New MBP's

    need some help guys... im new to MAC btw.:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. jegbook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    #3
    What he said.

    You might try just one stick at a time, use the same stick in both slots. If you got a DOA stick, this should isolate it. As well as if there's any chance of a bad RAM slot.

    Most times I get a RAM error after changing it, just reseating it clears up the problem.
     
  4. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #5
  5. iceman600 thread starter macrumors member

    iceman600

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #6
    just fiished memtest and i dont have any errors.
    so does that means that the RAM sticks are good?

    i did putting it one at a time on diffret slots. if i put only one stick, it boots up... putting another one goes to a blue screen... =(

    idk what issues im having =( do i have a bad sticks?
    why doesnt it boot if i put two sticks in there?

    i went back to my original sticks and t boots up fine.. detected both RAMS so my RAM slots are fine... :confused:
     
  6. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #7
    One of those sticks is bad. Return for a new set.
     
  7. iceman600 thread starter macrumors member

    iceman600

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #8
    even if i passed the memtest, one of it is still BAD? :confused:
     
  8. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    Yeah. Clearly it's the ram. It may be somewhat functioning but if it causes kernel panics then something is up. Return it and go with the Crucial. I have never had any problems with their ram.
     
  9. RKpro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #10
    + 1 for Crucial

    It costs a bit more, but I've never had any problems their RAM.
     
  10. jegbook macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    #11
    You could try OWC (www.macsales.com). People seem to have good luck with those and you can get some money back from your original RAM if you send it back to them.
     
  11. iceman600 thread starter macrumors member

    iceman600

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #12
    for what im reading here seems like no one likes the gskill that i bought...:(
    i just bought it because its on the recomended page i randomly browsed @.
     
  12. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #13
    Exactly. I've purchased G.Skill on many machines with no problems. I've also had Crucial no problems. Buddy of mine bought Crucial and had a bad stick. Happens.
     
  13. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #14
    That's BS. Look at the reviews from the many mac owners on newegg. Now look at the reviews on the Crucial page. You got a bad stick, have newegg replace it. I have G.Skill in my early 2011 and it works perfectly.
     

Share This Page