Unlimited 3G Data Plan?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Trialser, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. Trialser macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #1
    Is there anyway to get the unlimited plan on the iPad anymore? Mine just shows 2gb for 25$ and 250 mb for 15$. So is the unlimited plan for 30 gone for good? I want to use the 3G someday, but don't want to be limited to 2gb a month...
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    Unless you purchased your iPad before the AT&T cutoff of June 7th, it's gone. :(
     
  3. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #3
    You can move to Finland. I have unlimited data for only €9.90 a month.

    As for the 2 gig cap. Studies have shown that most people do not come close to approaching the 2 gig limit.
     
  4. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    95% likely that you wont use over 2GB anyway.
     
  5. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #5
    Studies have shown that yet I, and most friends, seem to come close often

    And we don't download big files, use it outside of Wifi THAT MUCH, and are big news guys with all news apps, etc...

    To me, it is a freakin joke that I have to worry myself towards the last few days as to whether I can update some news apps b/c of the 2 gig cap

    If AT&T was so worried about actual hoggers, it would be a much higher cap that is completely out of reach from users like myself who do NOT use big files (ie Netflix HD movies on 3G, etc...)
     
  6. sapporobaby macrumors 68000

    sapporobaby

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Location:
    3 earth minutes from your location....
    #6
    Higher caps cost more dollars. Are you willing to pay more to get more?
     
  7. poloponies macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #7
    You're not making sense because if you need to exceed the 2GB allotment for the 30 days then you can just start your next period early. It's 30 days or 2GB, whichever occurs earlier. There's never going to be a situation where you can't access 3G, just start your new period a little earlier.
     
  8. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #8
    I understand that my 3G will not just stop working. I didn't mean it like that.

    I am just referring to the Cap where I will be hit with overages if I go over the 2gig limit within my time period per month.

    Last month I used around 1.8 gigs and that was with ZERO netflix movies watched or anything like that.
     
  9. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #9
    No overages, just start-overages. Meaning you won't ever get some surprise bill for every KB exceeding your 2GB quota, like other carriers do.

    http://www.att.com/shop/wireless/devices/ipad.jsp
     
  10. poloponies macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #10
    Yes, if you hit 2GB in 2 weeks then your "month" ends there and you begin a new month. The "penalty" for hitting your cap is in having to start your next period earlier. The rate per GB remains the same. I have the unlimited plan but rarely get to 2GB even with my daily commute. No 2 days are ever the same and for whatever reason it works out that most of heavy use occurs in WiFi range.
     
  11. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #11
    Well, I did not know that. Thank you for educating me nicely :D
     
  12. Phantom Gremlin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    #12
    I'm not surprised. E.g. when you access Youtube over WiFi you get much higher quality video than when accessing over 3G. Somehow the iPad and Youtube are changing the quality to match the connection type. Offhand I don't know how, and I don't know if you can override that.
     

Share This Page