Unlock and Jailbreak iphone 4 - change baseband to ipad. HELP

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Rachelf1991, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. Rachelf1991 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Unlocking and jailbreaking on iphone 4 for current update 4.3.3. It's currently on baseband 04.10.01 which I know has not be unlocked yet, but I want to know how do I change my firmware to ipad baseband. It locked to vodafone UK and I want to use o2 sim card.

    Yes I know the dangers of upgrading to ipad baseband I just want to know has someone else tried this and has worked? any info would be much appreciated!.

    Thanks.
     
  2. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #2
    Can't use the iPad BB with the iPhone 4, they aren't compatible.
     
  3. Rachelf1991 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Well is there any other way of unlocking and jailbreaking the iphone 4 on its current baseband or ? I've seen reports of upgrading to ipad baseband for iphone 4 so now im confused :S

    Thanks!.
    Rachel.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You can JB it but you cannot unlock it with that baseband version. And like the poster above informed you cannot install the ipad bb on an iphone 4. Just iphone 3G and 3GS.
    Only way to unlock would be to buy a gevey turbo sim.
     
  5. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #5
    I just posted the options on your other thread ask Vodafone to unlock or order a gevey sim. that's it or selling your i4 and buying a unlocked one!
     
  6. Rachelf1991 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Oh okay then, I understand now. I might just wait then, thanks for all your info, Im a newbie at all this just didnt want to bar out my phone. Spoke to vodafone but they said they dont have the code to unlock my phone so i'd need to request it - but as I'm not the original buyer of the phone they cant do it - it was a contract and I bought it of my friend when he changed to HTC. I will ask my friend if he can contact vodafone with his information to unlock the phone from Vodafone.

    Thanks everyone!.
     
  7. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #7
    You'll be waiting quite some time then, since they don't even have an exploit for that baseband.

    The Gevey SIM is very inexpensive, especially compared to the nuisance of a phone you can't use.
     
  8. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #8
    You could just buy a factory unlocked iphone from apple.
     
  9. Epic Orange macrumors member

    Epic Orange

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Element X
    #9
    NOTE TO PEOPLE: It is possible to unlock iPhone's with iPad baseband 6.15.00, even though it isn't "Compatible".

    NOTE TO OP: IF YOU WANT AN UNLOCK, you are going to have to buy the gevey pro sim in order for this to work. The iPad baseband hack for unlock with your baseband and iOS version is not possible at the time of this post. Here is the video to showcase the gevey sim: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eh7r2BfTtCI&feature=related
     

Share This Page