unlock for T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tex-Twil, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #1
    Hello,
    I have an iPhone locked on T-Mobile carrier (Im in Germany). I'm going often to Prague where I have a Czech T-Mobile prepaid SIM that I use there.

    I tried to insert the prepaid card to the iPhone and guess what ... it doesn't work. It looks like the carriers are really as...les.

    Is this normal ? I thought that if a phone is locked to T-Mobile, any T-Mobile SIM should work.

    My 3GS is jailbroken so I could use yellowsnow to unlock it but I read some threads about the push notification which don't work. I'm a bit confused cos I dont know if those Push issues are related to unlocking or hacktivating.

    Will I have to re(hack)tivate my iPhone if I unlock it ? Or will it remain activated as it is now ?

    Thanks for your help,
    Tex
     
  2. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    I've just tried again but no way. The other T-mobile sim is not accepted :mad:
     
  3. xanadeath macrumors 6502

    xanadeath

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    If you unlock it any sim should work. If you go through cydia and install ultrasn0w you should be able to use any sim including the t-mobile one you want to use. There are no issues with push notification through unlocking, and unlcoking And hacktivating are two different things. I know if you unlcok an AT&T phone using ultrasn0w then you have to disable 3G to get it to connect to tmobile.... This might be the sane for you. Try this out and reply with how it works out for you. Go to the iPhone dev teams blog to get the source for ultrasn0w if you are running 3.0. If you are running 2.2.1 install yellowsn0w through cydia as it should already be there.
     
  4. xanadeath macrumors 6502

    xanadeath

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    My bad you said your using a 3GS. You would need to add the source fir ultrasn0w and install it. Once you install it through cydia that's it. No icon or anything the next time you restart your phone it will automatically start up without anything needed on your end. Hope this helps. Good luck :)

    Xanadeath
     
  5. xanadeath macrumors 6502

    xanadeath

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Sorry for all the spelling screw ups I am typing on my iPhone.... lol.
     
  6. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
  7. xanadeath macrumors 6502

    xanadeath

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    NP
     
  8. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

    Tex-Twil

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    Europe
    #8
    I this article they call a hactived phone a phone which has been unlocked ...
     

Share This Page