Unlock iPhone 3G to Orange Network

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by BladeW250, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. BladeW250 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    How do you unlock the iPhone 3G pay as you go (on O2) to my contracted orange sim? i've done a jailbreak, and a quickpwn but i get no carrier/signal.

    Is it even possible? what must i do?

    Please help

    Thanks
     
  2. Buttons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #2
    I'd be interested to know the answer to this because now the iphone is out on Pay as you go on o2 i planned on buying it this week and then jailbreaking it so my orange sim would work in it. I can't stand o2 and wouldn't want get stuck on that network. Hope someone can answer this question.
     
  3. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #4
    Please guys its common knowledge.

    iPhone 3G CAN NOT be unlocked.

    It will not work with your orange SIM card or any other SIM card unless it is an official unlocked iPhone 3G from Italy (or one of the asian countries that sell it unlocked).

    Jailbreaking lets you use third party applications not supported by Apple. That is all that jailbreaking does.
     
  4. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5

    iPhone 3G can be unlocked. There's a variety of hardware sim unlocks. Software unlocks are also an inevitability. The dev team just hasn't gotten there yet.
     
  5. Buttons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #6
    spinstorm i've seen iphone 3g's that are unlocked but haven't yet seen one that has been unlocked with an orange sim working in it yet.

    I know simturbo is meant to be the ONLY way to have an unblocked iphone 3g.
     
  6. hatedorloved macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #7
    im on orange and works good had no problems yet and i got a yessim
     
  7. Buttons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #8
    Do you have to buy a new tray to make the yessim one work?
     
  8. hatedorloved macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #9
    no i used a bit of sand paper on the edges of my simcard
     
  9. Buttons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #10
    I think i might go and get a iphone on O2 pay as you go, get a yessim and see if that will work. I don't want to sand down my sim card don't yessim provide a tray so you don't need to sand anything down?
     
  10. hatedorloved macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008

Share This Page