iPhone Unlock iPhone 4S 5.1.1 without losing the jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Fried Chicken, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. Fried Chicken macrumors 6502

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #1
    I hope this doesn't get lost in the flutter of the iOS 7 JB.
    I talked to spring and they gave me an "unlock code" for my iPhone 4S.
    Going into T-Mobile today to set it up, the phone refused to accept the unlock, and now I'm facing a potential restore.

    This is frustrating, and I would then just use the iPhone 5S I'm currently using (bought on CL for cheap).

    I then found this website which claims to have a way around it, however it suggests that it will only work with iOS 5.0.1.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    The only unlock Sprint allows is to use International GSM sims.
    CDMA phones must be flashed to another CDMA carrier - if that carrier will accept the transfer.
     
  4. Fried Chicken thread starter macrumors 6502

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #4
    I called sprint and they offered to unlock. They gave me an unlock code. I was shocked too. Now it looks like I have to do a full restore, something I want to avoid.
     
  5. JakeOcn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    #5
    Sprint only unlocks iPhone for international use, won't be possible to use it with TMobile
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Yep what he said.
    Sorry 4 u fried chicken:)
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    sprint doesn't unlock for domestic use, only international use, as others have said
     
  8. Fried Chicken thread starter macrumors 6502

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #8
    Supposedly an unlock code,
    I think it worked through t-mobile, but it would have required a restore, something I don't want to do as I want to keep iOS 5.1.1
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    I don't think you get it.
    It will NOT work with Tmobile USA even if you do restore.
     
  10. Fried Chicken thread starter macrumors 6502

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #10
    Why?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Read posts number 3,5 and 7 again.
    They already told you why.
     
  12. Fried Chicken thread starter macrumors 6502

    Fried Chicken

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #12
    There is a possibility that sprint changed their unlock policy.
     
  13. sapadcy Suspended

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
  14. chrf097 macrumors 68040

    chrf097

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    #14
    Well they didn't.
     
  15. MikeyMike01 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #15
    I got around the restore when I unlocked my jail broken AT&T phone by using the tweak SAM to deactivate the phone, and then activate it with iTunes.

    No idea about Sprint/CDMA things.
     

Share This Page