Unlock VS Jailbrake

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by trev, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. trev macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I've got my friends old iPhone 3G, which was on Rogers network (Canada). I'm a Bell Aliant customer and am planning to use it on their network. They say they can unlock it for a fee of $75, or I could do it myself using Jailbreak. Just looking for some clarification here. From what I read, Jailbreak is to unlock many features of the iPhone, which frankly, I don't care for. I'm only looking to do a carrier unlock. I've heard of ultrasn0w that will do the job. Basically, just looking for clarification on the process.

    Trevor
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    It sounds like you've got it straight.

    Jailbreaking just allows iOS to run unsigned code (apps/code not approved by Apple).

    Ultrasn0w requires a jailbroken iPhone but will unlock your device (depending on the baseband version).

    Basically, you'd jailbreak your iPhone with redsn0w, pwnage tool, greenposi0n, limera1n, etc. Then once finished go into the Cydia app which is installed during a jailbreak and install ultrasn0w.
     
  3. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
  4. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #4
    there is not real "VS" you have to jailbreak in order to unlock so really your doing both

    on the phone go to settings/general/about see what firmware you have this is important do determine if you even can still jailbreak, if your friend had updated the phone before giving it to you then it might be to late to currently unlock and you might have to wait for a new unlock
     
  5. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Not true, the carrier got unlocking code to do it without jailbreaking, it is not clear on the OP when he said "they".... if he means the carrier them Jailbreaking is not needed. if that is the case, title it is a bit misleading, it should read something like "Carrier unlock vs Jailbreaking Unlocking"
     
  6. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    true or he could of titled it

    $75 vs Free


    can the carrier unlock any baseband?
     
  7. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    They can unlock any baseband that was lock to their network yes. (E.J. Rogers cannot unlock a Phone locked to AT&T's network)
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    If and that is if, OP can get his phone factory unlocked for $75 he should jump on it. The tariff on getting a new iPhone 4 factory unlocked vs tied to a provider is a whole lot more than $75 difference.
     
  9. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #9
    OP is talking about a IPhone 3G.
     
  10. KidStallyn macrumors 6502

    KidStallyn

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #10
    Ok...so to clarify. If I'm on ATT and don't care about an unlock, I can just go ahead and jailbreak right?? I can do an iTunes upgrade to 4.1 and run GreenPoison, even though the Baseband is upgraded.

    iPhone 4
     
  11. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #11
    Yes, you can, However it is still recomende that you keep your current baseband, if you decide to sell your phone next year and get the iPhone5 at full price, them it will worth more if it is unlockable. It is really not that hard just use pwnage tool or tiny Umbrella to upgrade.

    Just an FYI
     
  12. KidStallyn macrumors 6502

    KidStallyn

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #12
    I doubt I will sell for the iPhone 5......But isn't there a chance that baseband will be unlockable by then?? Even if not, I can give the iPhone4 to my kids or wife. We'll be adding two new lines this summer anyways.

    Thnx for the quick response though!
     
  13. trev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    That baseband cannot be unlocked yet. Unless your carrier will provide an official unlock and then you'd be good.
     
  15. trev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    #15
    @Applejuiced:

    Is there a way to downgrade in that case?
     
  16. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #16
    The only phone that you could downgrade the baseband on was the 3G, and that was only with a pretty rare and early bootrom. Since you have a 3G, download FuzzyBand from Cydia and see what it tells you. If you have the 5.08 bootrom, you are lucky.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    Yep, what he said above. Or download f0recast and check your bootloader version but odds are slim though.
     
  18. trev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    #18
    So, I somehow managed to change the modem firmware to 05.15.04

    I followed the steps from pwnage, using an ipsw from the site below:

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=750

    I used the ipsw file, 4.1.0 (3G): iPhone1,2_4.1_8B117_Restore.ipsw

    This worked perfectly, then i used ultrasn0w, and that worked perfectly. Got all the confirmation prompts and everything.

    Went to my Bell store, and they were like "yup, she works!". Did there little thing on their end and sent me on my way.

    Seems to have worked, my phone is even picking up the carrier as being "Bell 8.0".

    HOWEVER, I have hit a brick wall at the very end of the tunnel. When I turn my phone on, it says "searching"... then after about a minute I get "No service". Any ideas?

    To point out the obvious, yes, I am in a service area. I've since travelled about 20 K with my phone and still, no service.
     
  19. jockeyrob macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    #19
    You updated the baseband to one that ultrasn0w doesn't unlock yet, probably accidentally, which is unfortunate for you.

    The Dev Team are only just going to release the 05.14.02 upgrade this week.

    Follow this site for info about a future unlock for the baseband you now have: http://blog.iphone-dev.org/
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Not sure what you did there. Baseband 05.15.04?
     
  21. trev, Nov 22, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2010

    trev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    #21
  22. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #22
    Did you update to 4.2? That's the only way to get 5.15 baseband. You should have been patience and waited for 5.14 Ultrasnow unlock updated coming out soon. Now, you are totally messed up because that seems to not support 5.15. Have fun waiting few more months at the least. At this point, probably best for you to pay $75 for factory unlock.

    And, that link is from 2008. Doubtful, it applies anymore.
     
  23. trev thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    St. John's, NL
    #23
    @Myzhi

    No, I didn't update to 4.2. I used Pwnage tools with the ipsw file lined above. In my settings>about, I have:

    Version: 4.1 (8B117)
    Modem Firmware: 05.15.04
     
  24. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #24
    You somehow went to firmware 4.2 then revert back to 4.1, but the baseband can't be downgraded. That's the only logically way you could have gotten the 5.15 baseband.
     
  25. Alvi macrumors 65816

    Alvi

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    Mars
    #25
    Legit unlocking? Sweet, better do that and don't void your warranty IMO
     

Share This Page