unlocked firmware 2.1 how do i get to 2.2 HELP

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SMkdesigns, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. SMkdesigns macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #1
    ok so my iphone 3g is unlocked 2.1, and i want to unlock it at at leat 2.2 with the podcast stuff.
    I use to know all about unlocking and followed these forums, but i have fell behind.

    so how would i go about doing this, i am using the gevey sim to unlock the phone and use it on tmobile.

    how can i save my data?

    Do i just dfu clean restore to the 2.2 firmware not 2.2.1 correct. Then run pwnage tool on that firmware file and so on and so forth then pop in my gevey sim

    i dont know alot about yellowsnow i only heard negative and it ruins your phone from being unlocked in the future
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    You are all correct with what you said except the stuff about yellowsn0w. Yellowsn0w is a simple cydia download, made by the iphone dev team (the people who jailbroke the iphone) It is harmless daemon ran when the iphone boots, that tell it to accept any sim card. It does no damage whatsoever, and be removed by uninstalling it in cydia or performing a simple restore in itunes. It is much more reliable than a gevey card that doesn't work with 2.2 anyways, and it acts just like a factory unlocked iphone. No permanent damage can be done.:D

    You can't save your data. You have to resync it. Sorry
     
  3. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #3
    Backup your phone with iTunes and use PwnageTool to patch 2.2.1 to keep the old baseband.

    Then you can use the unlock on the latest version.

    This is all on the Dev Team website....
     
  4. SMkdesigns thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #4
    ok so i pwwnd 2.2.1 and have it runing on my iphone with yellow stone and everything is great.

    one problem is with my base band i forgot what firmware i was at before i upgraded and the modem firmware is 02.11.07 does that matter. and how do i fix that.

    would i do a clean restore to 2.2 in itunes then after that reinstall the sustom 2.2.1 firmware then yellowstone.

    plus what does the modem firmware do anyway.

    my iphone is working perfect just wondering thanks guys
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    The dev team recommends that you update to 2.2 in itunes to get that current baseband, and then use pwnagetool to upgrade without replacing the baseband.
     
  6. SMkdesigns thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #6
    ok i have 2.2.1 running and i have a baseband from 2.1 because i never did a upgrade sense then.

    however i have noticed i tunes says something some type of error when i enter dfu ode thu pwnage. Then i read leopard 10.6 does not allow dfu mode. so will recovery mode due.

    i have 2.2.1 runing and everything is working perfect, however i took out my gevey sim card and put in just my tombile sim card and could not get service, isnt that the point of yellowsnow, to make it so i dont have to have a turbo sim.

    could y 2.1 one base band have something to do with it
     
  7. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #7
    you need to follow the instructions here and re-enable dfu mode that way. And then do the pwnage. After your device is jailbroken, you need to open up cydia and download yellowsn0w to unlock your phone.
     
  8. SMkdesigns thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #8

    re able dfu mode, i dont understand what you mean by that, before i did this my iphone was already jailbroken and pwned. Just on firmware 2.1

    OK i am a little confused myself now as well.

    I wanted to upgrade the other day as i have been with the jail-braking and unlocking community for 2 years or so. i believe i had firmware 2.1 or something. i downloaded 2.2.1 via itunes then used pwnage tool to create a custom ipsw.

    when i got to the dfu mode part, it said i successfully entered dfu mode in pwnage, however then itunes would give me some error message. So i decided to attempt to put it into dfu mode myself, i dont think i did i cant remmeber if the screen was all black or not, but i said screw this and itunes said it was in restore mode. So i installed the custom 2.2.1 ipsw, when i have like a 2.1 baseband or something.

    Point is everything is working amazing great, could not be better! No tiny issue i have is with yellowsnow. OK i installed it thinking it should work with 2.2.1 after reading the dev team blog site right. Well it does not seem to work with my tmobile sim card. However with my gevey plus version 1 sim card the phone is unlock and works perfectly.
    Now this could be because i need to take out my tmobile sim and put it in a tmobile phone then back in the iphone sense its been with the gevey sim for so long. It forgets its a tmobile sim or something it happens happened before.

    or i f$%#% something up and the older base band from 2.1 because i never updated to 2.2 has something to do with it.
    but my phone is working great the best it ever has.

    So i think what that one guy said might be right about " not having to put the iphone into dfu mode, because itunes says its in recovery mode anyway, i mean if your phone is already pwned like mine.

    DFU mode gottta love it, i had a broken iphoe 3g a while back and it broke so i took it in to be repaired. the phone was not in my name as i use tmobile i bought it off some creepy guy. LOL but one of the apple genius was a young dude like myself and i mentioned DFU mode and other jail-breaking **** by accident. He was so dam cool about it, he went into the computer system changed the name registered to the iphone ( some arab name) to my name and gave me a brand new iphone 3g and started the warranty from that day foreword. SO it does not matter im on tmobile anymore i cal go to the apple store or call and its registered to me and if its not activated i just say because its not working. lol its great.
     

Share This Page