Unlocked iPhone 2.0 FROZEN on pineapple logo!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by theFranchise25, Aug 28, 2008.

  1. theFranchise25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside California
    #1
    Ok heres the deal, I tried using "customize" to change my themes. was not working properly. uninstalled it and i could not change my wallpaper. and one theme that partially worked stayed on there. i figured i would go to settings and restore the phone. took one hour and now the pineapple logo from pwnage is frozen from the restart. my phone wont restart now.. PLEASE HELP! will doing pwnage again fix it?. HELP AGAIN! LOL
     
  2. DN7335 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #2
    First try to reboot the phone by holding down Home and Power. If that doesn't work, go into DFU mode and restore the firmware. If your firmware is pwned, you're set, but if you used QuickPwn, install the official firmware and then pwn again.
     
  3. theFranchise25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside California
    #3
    tried the reboot and nothing. so just do DFU and it will restore my pwned firmware. cool. will try the DFU when i get home. should i downgrade from 2.0? it seemed like there was not much for that.
     
  4. theFranchise25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside California
    #4
    can i just use Pwnage again to start over?!?!
     
  5. clancemasterj macrumors regular

    clancemasterj

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere outside of time.
    #5
    For those with jailbroken iPhones and SSH installed, there is a fix "or workaround" for the infinite apple "or pineapple :)" logo loop. This method disables watchdog and allows the springboard to load. Once it's reloaded, you have to enable watchdog because "as well as monitoring Springboard and killing/restarting it, the watchdog also has to periodically reset the HARDWARE watchdog, if this doesn't happen the device will spontaneously reboot. The hardware watchdog is 10 and a bit minutes, so without the watchdog installed and working your device will reboot itself every 10 minutes."

    a more thorough explanation is on the link:

    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=49782

    terminal commands to send to the device via ssh:

    Disable watchdog:
    mv /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/mobilewatchdog.bundle/ /
    reboot

    enable watchdog:
    mv /mobilewatchdog.bundle /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/
    reboot
     
  6. Dr. Cabrera macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
  7. philhu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #8
    Actually, you don't need ssh or a client.

    Just install MobileTerminal and sudo on your phone.

    Mobileterminal allows you to have a terminal into your phone on your phone. sudo allows a non admin/root user to run root commands, like moving system files.

    It also has its own editor for its config file, named 'visudo', which shows examples of putting in an entry that does not require a password entered each command. I did this for the 'mobile' user, since Mobileterminal runs under mobile account.

    I then built 2 commands, called arm and disarm, set them 755, with the long mv commands to move mobilewatchdog out and the second to mv it back in. Since the keyboard on the iphone is so slow to use, it is much easier to type 'arm' or 'disarm', and of course, the 'reboot' command.

    At a mobile terminal prompt, I just type: 'sudo arm'
    to arm the patch. And then type: 'sudo disarm' and 'sudo reboot'
    after a reboot was necessary.

    The good thing is since this is UNIX, you can actually run 'arm' after the phone boots, not just when you have a problem. This is because all files are run/used by file handle, not location (except to open them the first time). So it doesnt stop the watchdog if you move them, UNTIL the reboot occurs. So you can keep it in patched mode forever incase of a hang.
     
  8. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #9
    that's all well and good, but if your stuck at the ALoD (or PoD) you won't be able to run Terminal.

    you should ****. if you're going to insult someone at least know what you're talking about.


    OP, you can often get past that error quite easily. Try restoring in a different USB port, restarting iTunes, or restarting your computer. Any one or combination of those 3 should do the trick.
     
  9. philhu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #10
    That is true. You need to do this BEFORE you have a problem, so you won't have problems afterwards
     
  10. h2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #11
    Same thing happened to my iphone - its stuck.

    I'm going to try my luck with apple replacing the phone.
     
  11. theFranchise25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Riverside California
    #12
    actually after the 1st couple posts all i did was run pwnage again and its fine now. LOL sorry for anyone stuck trying different things
     
  12. philhu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #13
    That is fine, but it WILL happen again, if you add apps from AppStore or Cydia. It is Russian Roultette.

    Let's all hope they fix this tomorrow with the 2.1 update!
     

Share This Page