Unlocked Iphone 4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pcuz, May 23, 2011.

  1. pcuz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I live in the US and I wanted to buy an unlocked Iphone 4.

    As I understand it my options are to buy in Canada or Europe (so I could buy a device in the UK). I travel a lot which is why I need it unlocked but wanted to check if I got the device inthe UK for example I would have no problems using it back in the US on AT&T?

    Also if I go this route then the phone will always be unlocked and I want have problems with future updates?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Phil-82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    As long as you buy it factory unlocked, you can use it pretty much on any carrier that supports the sim Iphones take and you won't have a problem with updates.
     
  3. pcuz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #3
    Great! So all Iphones ship with the right radios to work on 3G either in europe or ATT in the US?
     
  4. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #4
    Yep. GSM (the 3G technology the iPhone uses) is a worldwide standard.
     
  5. pcuz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #5
    Nice. So does the Iphone ship with a quadband radio 850/900/1900/2100?
     
  6. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #6
  7. pcuz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
  8. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #8
    FYI you still will be edge if you were to use it on tmobile. I believe they use 1700. Hopefully the next iphone will allow it. also keep in mind you will not be able to get it serviced in the US. if you buy Canada any service issues would be there or the same for the UK.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Exactly what I was going to say.
    Tmobile USA 3G bands wont work with any iphones that are out so far.
    You will only get 2G edge On tmobile USA.
     

Share This Page