Unlocked iPhone 7+ & Verizon. No LTE Voice

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hArrisburger, Oct 1, 2016.

  1. hArrisburger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #1
    I was a little surprised when I went to add LTE Voice (or HD voice as a free feature) to my 7+ that I got from the Apple Upgrade program unlocked and it didn't work. I was told by a Verizon representative that this "feature" is only available to customers who get their phones from Verizon. They claim there's "software" that makes this possible.

    This perprlexed me. Wouldn't my unlocked phone be the exact same I got from Verizon? The model number is exactly the same. Do other carriers do something similar? It's enough to make me want to go to ATT.
     
  2. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #2
    This is crap. You need to get another rep. Verizon has whitelisted all compatible iPhones.
     
  3. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #3
    That is wrong. Also, power off the phone, then back on. I had to do this on a 6s+ before "data and voice" could be activated for VoLTE under the "cellular" settings when I first got the Verizon nanoSIM. If this doesn't work, you may need to log into your account and turn on VoLTE/HD Voice. Note you will need a voice + data account with Verizon for this to work.

    But yes, unquestionably your unlocked phone can, and should, be able to toggle on VoLTE, aka HD Voice. And your unlocked iPhone should be giving you HD Voice or VoLTE on any of the major carriers, including GSM and CDMA.

    Protip: use Facetime Audio when making iPhone to iPhone phone calls. It blows away any cellular connection. And never, ever use wifi calling, call quality is horrendous.
     
  4. hArrisburger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #4
    Thanks. I have done all of that. It won't let me add it on my account via the app or online. And they can't in store. I also can't toggle it on in cellular settings.
     
  5. daddyd302 macrumors member

    daddyd302

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    #5
    Do you have the Verizon version? I bought the Verizon version when I was still with T-Mobile. I activated it on T-Mobile and switched to Verizon a week later. I have LTE voice on mine.
     
  6. hArrisburger thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    #6
    As usual. Apple customer service is phenomenal. We walked through about everything before just switching out the phone and it eventually worked. That said. I believe the easiest path may be to wipe the phone, activate as the new carrier, then restore from backup to get any additional services. We also discovered that picking HD voice as a feature seemed to activate it, when I was still having issues with the new phone on the website.

    It seemed to perplex the Genius bar, but we eventually all figured it out!
     

Share This Page