Unlocked iPhone but 'No Service' is shown

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by LGShepherd, May 22, 2009.

  1. LGShepherd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Teesside, United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi,

    I recently posted asking how to downgrade firmware but then I managed to change the baseband (using the iClarified source in Cydia) to the required version so I could unlock it, which I thought I did.

    I have used yellowsnow and bosspref to unlock it but when I put in any sim card then it shows 'No Service'.

    Is there any steps I have missed?

    Another thing that may affect it is that this particular iPhone was lost and then recovered but o2 apparently blocked the phone???

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    My understanding is that if O2 blocks the phone, that is shared with the other UK networks and they block it too.

    Unless you can get O2 to unblock it, I think you're out of luck.
     
  3. LGShepherd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Teesside, United Kingdom
    #3
    I thought that originally but I have restored the firmware, jailbroke and whatever else that I can do, so I thought that action may have removed that block o2 put on the phone?

    Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #4
    I think you may have misunderstood what blocking is. It is the process of setting the network not to allow your phone to connect. The phone has a unique identifier built in which is how the network knows it is that phone and refuses the connection.

    This is nothing to do with unlocking or jailbreaking the phone.
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    They probably have your IMEI number blacklisted. :eek:
     
  6. philstone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Isles
    #6
    I think you have 2 options...

    1. get the original owner to tell o2 the phone has been found and they may remove the block
    2. sell the phone to someone abroad - when they block phones in the UK it only blocks them in the UK, i bought a 8910 off someone in the UK as it was blocked there but worked fine here in Spain...
     
  7. ianbborg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #7
    Try removing the pin number from the sim card using another phone, that worked for me.... i couldn't get it to work with the pin code but it works flawlessly without one
     
  8. strikingviking macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009

Share This Page