Unlocked iPhone for Sprint?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by teamturbo, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teamturbo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Im trying to figure something out for my younger college sister. She has a Sprint plan and is interested in getting an unlocked iPhone and hooking it up to her network. I told her to ask at her local Sprint retailer, they told her its impossible, but I just want to make sure, as a lot of them think it runs only on ATT.

    I read that Sprint uses CDMA technology which does not have SIM cards for their phones. I don't know what this means, but its not compatible?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. D1G1T4L macrumors 68000

    D1G1T4L

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    iPhone won't work with Sprint.
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    Sprint, Verizon = CDMA
    At&t, T-Mobile = GSM

    2 completely different and incompatible standards. So NO, you cannot use an iPhone on Sprint or Verizon.
     
  4. Jsingh macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #4
    iPhone is not compatible with sprint by any means. Sprint is TDMA and iPhone is GSM, different wireless technology. The only carrier that i know of with gsm in the states is t-mobile.
     
  5. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Sprint is CDMA, not TDMA. The old AT&T and Cingular used to use TDMA (analog). It used to be the only network that worked most everywhere.
     
  6. Avenger4all macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #6
    Iphone on sprint

    I understand the iphone wont work with sprint due to lack of Sim card. Does this hold true with the international phones, because the international phones (like the blackberry 8830, or samsung ace)have a gsm sim card. I am currently rebuilding my credit (long story) and love the iphone. Does the pre-paid version have all the features that the one with a contract would??
     
  7. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #7
    Yes.
     
  8. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #8
    Sprint = Bad & No Reception in many places, will double bill you!
    AT&T = OK, the only game in town, WiFi HotSpots, Rollover Minutes
     
  9. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #9
    Yes, but it is more expensive. 200 minutes for $29.99 plus $20 data plan. There is an additional charge for SMS depending on how many you want.
     
  10. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    It's pretty much the same except it has less minutes for more money.
     
  11. Avenger4all macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #11
    Thanks to all

    thanks everyone for answering. I live in NY and reception is all pretty much the same. Minutes aren't an issue because I average maybe 75 a month with about 3000 text messages. Just found out work might be paying for it all so doesnt matter what it costs!!! Again thanks everyone for your help!!:D
     
  12. iphonewiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #12
    Maybe in 2012

    Maybe we will see Sprint version in 2012! By that time the iPhone will be thinner than a match box...oh it's already that thin!
     
  13. joeshell383 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #13
    AT&T and T-Mobile are the largest GSM providers in the U.S. Sprint, Verizon Wireless, and Alltel are the largest CDMA providers in the U.S. However, there are MANY more (much smaller) providers than the previously mentioned.

    See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_States_mobile_phone_companies
     
  14. Avenger4all macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    #14
    Ok need help again

    I beg for patience, as I am still trying to learn. This year is the year of the apple. First I was given an IMAC from the early 2000's. Being a photographer and never experiencing an apple, I think I have found a lifelong love. That inspired my macbook. Luckily my paycheck matched the release of the 2.6 Processor. Now I have turned to cell phone, and this is where I seek knowledge from the all knowing MAC-Ites. The highest form of intelligent life on the net. After being mislead by an unknowing AT&T rep, Iphone is undoubtly my next phone. I come to you with these questions.

    The current iphone and 3g iphone, what are the differences?? internet speed??

    If this is the only difference, how does it compare to sprint's treo 755?? I realize this may be like comparing apples and oranges, but I am grateful for ANY information that could be given. I guess i am so used to sprints NON-Accessable internet that speeds don't really matter:apple:
     
  15. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #15
    3G is a lot faster than ATT's current EDGE but Sprint's EVDO is faster than EDGE. Some people like the Palm OS interface of the treo but I think it looks like something from the 90s. Also the treo doesn't have the iPod functionality of the iPhone.
     
  16. pwhite8314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #16
    Well I have a Sprint phone (A Samsung) with a Sprint SIM card (as I travel outside of the US), so does that mean I could make use of an unlocked iPhone?
     
  17. cdd543 macrumors 6502

    cdd543

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Denver
    #17
    The sim card would only allow you to roam overseas with 900/ 1800mhz for voice and data gsm roaming partners. Sprint uses cdma so the iphone will not work. The dual radio handset has become more popular for verizon and sprint as their native technology is less popular across the world, but that will not help you with the iphone.
     
  18. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #18
    I would think the SIM card could be used with an unlocked iPhone. If you use it in the US it would be roaming 100% of the time. I would think Sprint would eventually shut you down.
     
  19. thechidz macrumors 68000

    thechidz

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    New York City
    #19
    just get a tmobile prepaid sim and slap it in there
     
  20. pwhite8314 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #20
    Thanks all for the responses. It's a company cell, so I cant just switch networks, though there's talk of moving to AT&T, so I guess I'll have to hold out for that, since the choice of Sprint phones is v v limited, and mostly crap.
     
  21. dacreativeguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #21
    All the carriers will break your heart if you just give them enough time...
     
  22. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #22
    Yea from what I gather ALL carriers have crappy coverage and support. That leaves you to pick the one with the best phones :)

    I personally love the flexibility of GSM .... Being able to get a local pre-paid SIM when I go over seas is very nice.
     
  23. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #23
    Sprint would shut you down in a heartbeat. I am fairly certain that the SIMs are not set to roam in the USA, only overseas. And if they found that you were "roaming" on T-Mobile or AT&T in a perfectly good Sprint area, they'd definitely shut you down instantly.

    This was beaten to death in the Verizon thread too.
     
  24. atsang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    #24

    Has anyone tried this? Is there proof of being shut down?
     
  25. sebastianscrib macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #25
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page