Unlocked iPhone having issues, but still under warranty.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tjpoch, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. tjpoch macrumors member

    tjpoch

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #1
    I recently bought a first gen iPhone from a friend who got a 3G iPhone. I unlocked it and was going to start using it on T-Mobile. I installed some apps from the App Store and am having trouble with it freezing up often and needing to restart it. I asked the person I bought it from and she said it used to do that and she took it into Apple and they fixed the issue. The iPhone is still under warranty until Jan 15. What should I do? If I take it in as is I don't think they will cover it since its unlocked. Should I put the legit sim card in it from my friends 3G iPhone and then take it in? Would I want to reset the phone before then? Like I said its unlocked but not Jailbroken.
    Any advice would be much appreciated.
     
  2. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #2
    If it's unlocked, it's also jailbroken. Apple can tell if the phone is jailbroken. I'd do a complete restore if you were going to take it in.
     
  3. AlmostJosh macrumors 6502

    AlmostJosh

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #3
    but doing a complete restore could also solve the problem
     
  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #4
    Yup, +1 ^^^ take it in only after you do a Restore to DFU mode on the iPhone. You should be good to go, when you head into the Apple Store.
     
  5. tjpoch thread starter macrumors member

    tjpoch

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #5
    When I did the unlock I installed 2.1 and then upgraded with iTunes to 2.2 so I don't have any of the Jailbroken apps on it. If I do a true restore I will need an active ATT sim right?
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    yes. you might be able to borrow a friends sim card or something. I'm not sure what their policies are on fixing phones with no at&t sim card.
     
  7. jmcgarrell macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Boston/Beverly, MA
    #7

    When I was at the genius bar the other day, a young lady brought in a jailbroken first gen iphone with cydia icon on the first home page. The apple tech informed her that he cannot touch the iphone with cydia installed, and without a active ATT Sim card in the phone.
     
  8. tjpoch thread starter macrumors member

    tjpoch

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #8
    I'm taking the phone in tonight with an active ATT sim & I was wanting to change the Network APN settings back for ATT. Anyone know what it should be?

    Thanks
     
  9. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #9
    Trick question. On a stock restore it won't be visible, as the default US install hides that section of the settings panel.

    Oh, and if you do need to manually enter it, the top field is 'wap.cingular', and the rest is blank.
     
  10. tjpoch thread starter macrumors member

    tjpoch

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #10
    I see, thanks for the heads up.
     

Share This Page