Unlocked iPhone info??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tonyanza, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Tonyanza macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    I am a total iphone newbie ...
    I did not find this info on a forum search....
    Please excuse me if I missed it..

    Is there an "input code" that gives info from the iphone ...
    that will verify if and how it is unlocked?

    I just purchased a used unlocked 2g ....
    I am impatiently, awaiting its arrival through US postal service ....

    From the phone description ..
    (This phone has been upgrade to 3.0 software - giving you access to search, voice recording, and more!
    It's also UNLOCKED to work on any GSM carrier.)

    I asked the seller if the iphone was unlocked with jailbreak?
    he responded that it has been updated to OS 3 and is unlocked, not jailbroke.

    His answer ... I quote:
    ("You should be able to insert your tmobile SIM card and have the phone work for you.
    It's unlocked for use with any compatible carrier.")

    So is there a way to find out how it was unlocked ?
    Through a typed in code response or an icon that would give me hint?

    I am also very confused, .....

    Am I to understand that the use of itunes can or may, undo the unlock if it is not a factory OEM unlock?

    INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW

    Thanks in advance for your replies.
    Tony
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    In order to unlock, the phone must be JB first (for 2G the JB and unlock occurs at same time)

    The phone could "possibly" be unlocked from Apple, but these are rare.

    To test it, try it with a non AT&T sim.
     
  3. DanielNTX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    It was probably unlocked with BootNeuter. The 3.0 update did not touch the baseband. So if it was installed on top, it would be unlocked already from the previous update.

    Jailbreaking is not required because they could have done a custom IPSW with only BootNeuter.

    iTunes can undo the unlock if the baseband gets updated on the 2g on a future firmware update.
     
  4. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    stupid question #1 ..
    So if it was unlocked with BootNeuter ... i will see a "BootNeuter Icon" on the screen?


    stupid question #2 ..
    So how will I know if the update includes "baseband" ?

    Thanks
    Tony
     
  5. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #5
    Q1, no you won't see that. I don't think you'll be able to know exactly how or when it was unlocked, but that's probably not a big deal. Assume it is NOT factory unlocked and you'll be safe from re-locking.

    Q2, always check on this forum and on http://blog.iphone-dev.org/ before allowing iTunes to put an update on your phone. Other than that, you can use iTunes as normal, it won't do any harm.
     
  6. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #6
    thanks again

    1 last thought......
    Since I am using T-mobile .... and do not want to get the data service or another contract .......

    Is there a data setting, or a way to turn off mail push, that I need to know about ??
    To keep the Iphone from using data other than through wifi?

    I don't want any surprises $$ come bill time,

    Thanks
    Tony
     
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #7
    Yes. Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network.

    Change the Cellular Data APN, username, password to something random, then the phone will not be able to log on.
     
  8. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #8
    Great...
    Then I can still access WiFi ...?

    I am curious ...
    Can the 8gb memory be accessed by the computer, without Itunes?
    Like seeing it as a mass storage device on my Mac or PC?

    Thanks again for you reply
    Tony
     
  9. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #9
    Yes

    There are apps for this in the App Store, search for "drive" or "disk", you'll find some, some are free, some paid
     
  10. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #10
    wooooo hoooooo

    got the phone today......
    it is a 2g with 3.0 update and unlocked .... worked fine soon as i put my tmobile sim in...

    But every now & then when i press a icon...nothing happens..
    and all the "icons shake". till i hit home key ... it is very strange

    is there a hardware problem.... or is this a bug i the 3.0 update?

    Tony
     
  11. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    No, when all the icons shake, it just means you can hold them down individually and move it around to a different spot on the screen. If you dont want them to shake, then dont hold your finger down on the icon. You only need to tap on it to get them to work.
     
  12. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #12
    thank you ....
    so it was a newbie..... error!

    I feel mich better now....lol

    Tony
     
  13. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #13
    Sleep mode ...... or shut down?

    The used iphone I purchased did not have a ac/usp adapter,
    ..... just the USB cable & dock.

    So I left it pluged in to my macbookpro overnight to complete the charging....
    I now realize that it wont charge, if the macbookpro goes to sleep mode ... lol

    But more importantly, when I pressed the home button on the Iphone .... it did not respond .......

    When I pressed the the sleep switch on top, it brought up the apple icon and appeared to be a full start up or boot up?

    So was it in sleep mode or shut down??

    If it is in sleep mode it would still respond to a incoming call, I presume?

    But if it shuts down, can I assume there may be a problem?

    I searched the iphone manual I downloaded, and could not find much info on this subject of sleep mode.

    Thanks in advance
    Tony
     
  14. Tonyanza thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #14

    according to apple tech support ....
    It was shut down or froze up and was, "just a hiccup", caused by it being plugged into a mac book that was in sleep mode.

    BTW:
    Support also said, on the newest macbook pros laptops will still charge with the lid closed.

    Tony
     

Share This Page